How to view Internet Explorer only pages using a Mac?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ZeRea, Dec 1, 2008.

  1. ZeRea macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #1
    Hi

    I just bought a Mac, and my browsers are Safari and the Mac version of Firefox. There are some Internet pages that do not display properly on my Mac, how do I make it show up correctly?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Download Internet Explorer or go into the Developer menu of Safari and change the User Agent to Internet Explorer.
     
  3. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #3
    get Wine or Crossover or virtual machine if you want to use IE
     
  4. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #4
    IE is no longer in developemnt for macs and hasnt been for some time
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    This I know. It sucks having to use Internet Explorer 5, but you can still download it.
     
  6. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #6
    While true, that doesn't mean its not possible to find the old IE for download
     
  7. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #7
  8. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #8
    yea but as far as rendering pages correctly, there may be issues that IE5 wont be able to display it well as its very old

    i wouldnt reccomend getting IE5 personally
     
  9. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #9
  10. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #10
    DO NOT DOWNLOAD INTERNET EXPLORER!

    Microsoft is no longer developing it. It sucks and is very old.

    Download Safari 4 Developer Preview, from connect.apple.com. Sign up for an account (it's free, select the online membership) and log in, go click the downloads link and on the right side, there's a link that says Safari. Download the appropriate package, and install it. Now go to Safari > Preferences and then the advanced tab. Check the show develop menu. Go to Develop > User Agent > Internet Explorer 7. You can try IE 6 or 5 or whatever, but 7 is the latest.
     
  11. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    Thanks for backing me. +1 to this method. ;)
     
  12. ZeRea thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #12
    Hi

    Thanks for the advice. But I registered and downloaded it, then it said it would install 99.5 MB, and I continued with the installation and then restarted. But now, I can't seem o find the new Safari 4, and my old Safari version is in the dock. What should I do?
     
  13. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    This may solve the OP's problem, but not necessarily. There are certain websites out there that require Internet Explorer, not just any web browser with the user agent set to IE. For years, this was a personal issue for me because my firm's website was one of those websites for which changing the user agent was not enough. Eventually, it was fixed, but not before I grew a few more gray hairs.
     
  14. ltldrummerboy macrumors 68000

    ltldrummerboy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #14
    Once it installs, you no longer have Safari 3. Safari 4 is in your dock.
     
  15. sou1 so1di3r macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #15
    So I tired to go under develop and set safari to IE 8 but the website my company uses still doesn't show.

    I guess maybe it is just one of those sites that ONLY works on windows?


    It's a shame, I finally got Outlook 2011 and Lync working with my work credentials, but all my work revolves around this site and I can't access it from my brand new Mac Mini.... which means I barely ever get to use this baby :(
     
  16. m00min macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    #16
    You could buy a copy of Parallels and install Windows 7. I use this setup for testing in IE. If you run in coherence mode you'll get a browser window, just like any normal mac app, you can even skin it to make it blend in with OS X a bit.
     
  17. sou1 so1di3r macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #17
    hmmm, maybe ill give this a try and see how it works
     
  18. UNCMo96 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #18
    I find that Firefox with IEtab is able to display most windows only sites...
     

Share This Page