How to view what's taking up network traffic

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by scissorband, Jan 16, 2010.

  1. scissorband macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    #1
    Recently my internet has been slow, and even though I reboot my iStat Pro reports that I'm always downloading and uploading stuff (the speeds are like 100 kilobytes/sec) even though I have no applications running (I only have Finder in my Dock). How can I see what is using up my bandwidth?
     
  2. Clete2 macrumors 65816

    Clete2

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    I'm not sure about the answer to your question, but maybe there are background processes such as Software Update that could be downloading updates.
     
  3. scissorband thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    #3
    After running Software Update from the Apple icon it said checking for new software and then it said it found no updates
     
  4. ThirteenXIII macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #4
    No, he means that there could be a background process of Software Update running. not to check it.

    Id definitely check out iStat from iSlayer.com, definitely see if there is a huge spike in network usage.
     
  5. scissorband thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    #5
    Why would Software Update be running and downloading things if there is nothing to update?

    Also if you read the first sentence of my first post it says I already have iStat which is what I use
     
  6. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    Look in activity monitor to see what you have running.
    You will always have a little up and down internet traffic even if nothing is running because the modem has to keep in touch with the ISP so to say.
    If you can´t find anything running, go to speedtest.com runs several tests and see what your speeds are.
    If they aren't close to what your paying for, login to your modem, take a look at the DCHP client users table and see if anyone else is on your network that shouldn't be.
    If all appears reasonable there, then call your ISP and tell them you're experiencing slow internet speeds and hope they can fix it.
    Best of luck.
     
  7. Clete2 macrumors 65816

    Clete2

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    The problem does not lie in his router; it lies in his MacBook Pro. He is reporting network usage from the MBP and not from the router.
     
  8. scissorband thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    #8
    I checked Activity Monitor and there's some stuff I don't know (like AppleSpell.service, UserEventAgent, etc.) but I don't see anything that I do know that would take up so much of my internet.

    I don't think 100 kilobytes/sec is little, my maximum download is 192 kilobytes/sec (my internet max is 1.5 megabits/sec) so it's more than half my internet being used and when I test at speedtest.net it says 0.75 megabit download speed.

    I checked my modem anyway and there's nobody on there except my MBP. I don't understand how anyone else can be on it anyway because there's no wireless and there's only one ethernet slot for one computer so nobody else can plug their computer in.

    I don't really care if my internet is slow because I don't download movies and big files like that, but I'm just curious as to why my MBP is downloading 100 kilobytes/sec all the time and I can't find what it is.
     
  9. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    I misread the speed earlier. For some reason I missed the kilo.
    Do you have another user account on the computer?
    Do you have remote access turned on?
    Do you have the firewall turned on?

    You could try installing little snitch and monitor all outgoing connections to try to help narrow down what program is sending information out.
     
  10. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #10
    Do you have Orbicule Undercover installed? When I first installed v3.1 I was having problems with network traffic that turned out to be a bug in that version of the program.
     
  11. AirThis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    #11
    To see all apps with open tcp connections:

    lsof | grep -i tcp*
     

Share This Page