How to Watch Apple's WWDC 2020 Keynote on June 22

MacRumors

macrumors bot
Original poster
Apr 12, 2001
48,667
10,094


Apple's 31st Worldwide Developers Conference will be a digital-only event in 2020, with no physical gathering planned due to the ongoing global health crisis.


The virtual event starts a little later in the month than usual, on June 22, and is free for anyone. As with previous years, Apple is kicking off WWDC with a keynote on the first day, offering a look at some upcoming products and providing the first details on new operating systems.

Rumors have suggested we could potentially see a new redesigned iMac and an announcement about Apple's planned shift to Arm-based Macs. We're also expecting a first-look at next-generation versions of macOS, iOS, iPadOS, and tvOS.

You can watch Apple's WWDC 2020 Keynote live as it happens using one of the methods described below. The stream for the event starts at 10:00 a.m. Pacific Time from Apple Park in Cupertino, California. For reference, here's when the event will begin based on other time zones in the United States and around the world:
  • Honolulu, Hawaii — 7:00 a.m. HAST
    Anchorage, Alaska — 9:00 a.m. AKDT
    Cupertino, California — 10:00 a.m. PDT
    Phoenix, Arizona — 10:00 a.m. MST
    Vancouver, Canada — 10:00 a.m. PDT
    Denver, Colorado — 11:00 a.m. MDT
    Dallas, Texas — 12:00 noon CDT
    New York, New York — 1:00 p.m. EDT
    Toronto, Canada — 1:00 p.m. EDT
    Halifax, Canada — 2:00 p.m. ADT
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil — 2:00 p.m. BRT
    London, United Kingdom — 6:00 p.m. BST
    Berlin, Germany — 7:00 p.m. CEST
    Paris, France — 7:00 p.m. CEST
    Cape Town, South Africa — 7:00 p.m. SAST
    Moscow, Russia — 8:00 p.m. MSK
    Helsinki, Finland — 8:00 p.m. EEST
    Istanbul, Turkey — 8:00 p.m. TRT
    Dubai, United Arab Emirates — 9:00 p.m. GST
    Delhi, India — 10:30 p.m. IST
    Jakarta, Indonesia — 12:00 a.m. WIB next day
    Shanghai, China — 1:00 a.m. CST next day
    Singapore — 1:00 a.m. SGT next day
    Perth, Australia — 1:00 a.m. AWST next day
    Hong Kong — 1:00 a.m. HKT next day
    Seoul, South Korea — 2:00 a.m. KST next day
    Tokyo, Japan — 2:00 a.m. JST next day
    Adelaide, Australia — 2:30 a.m. ACST next day
    Sydney, Australia — 3:00 a.m. AEST next day
    Auckland, New Zealand — 5:00 a.m. NZST next day
MacRumors will also provide a live blog both here on MacRumors.com and on our MacRumorsLive Twitter account, along with detailed coverage of everything Apple announces during the week.

Watch the Keynote on Mac, iPhone or iPad

You can watch the WWDC keynote on any Mac, iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch using Apple's native Safari browser. Bear in mind, to meet the stream's requirements, iOS devices must be running iOS 10 or later, while Macs need to be running macOS Sierra 10.12 or later.


Launch Safari from your chosen device and follow this link to the WWDC 2020 Keynote.

Watch the Keynote on the TV App

You can watch the WWDC keynote via Apple's TV app on Mac, iPhone, iPad, and Apple TV.
  1. Open the TV app on your chosen device.
    Scroll down the Watch Now category and select WWDC 2020. Alternatively, type "WWDC" into the Search field and select WWDC 2020 from the results.
  2. Click Play.

The app may tell you to tune in at your local time on June 22 to watch the event live. In the meantime, you could always watch the WWDC 2019 keynote while you wait.

Watch the Keynote on a Windows PC

If you don't have an Apple device handy, you can still watch the WWDC 2020 keynote on a PC running Windows 10. Open Microsoft Edge browser and follow this link to the WWDC 2020 Livestream.


While Apple offers no guarantees, other platforms may also be able to access the WWDC 2020 keynote using recent versions of Chrome or Firefox (MSE, H.264, and AAC codecs/extensions must be installed).

Watch on YouTube or in the Apple Developer App

Apple will also stream its keynote event on YouTube. A WWDC Special Event video has been added to its YouTube channel. The video lets you set reminders for the keynote, so you can get an alert ahead of when it starts, so you don't miss a thing.


Lastly, Apple plans to stream the keynote in the Apple Developer app, and on the Apple Developer website, giving Apple fans and developers multiple ways to watch.

Article Link: How to Watch Apple's WWDC 2020 Keynote on June 22
 

snow755

macrumors 65816
Sep 12, 2012
1,249
377
this is going too be my 1st WWDC that I have all apple stuff I have MacOS IOS iPad OS watchOS and TVOS
 
  • Like
Reactions: slamuelrock

Kev0172

macrumors newbie
Jan 6, 2019
9
0
Right around the kids bedtime. Does anyone know, if I start the YouTube stream and pause it, wether I can then hit play and carry on where I left off?
 

hoyhoy

macrumors newbie
Dec 17, 2019
10
8
Will Apple release a new iOS and macOS that can sync photos between a Macbook Pro and an iPhone? This stopped working on my MacBook Pro and iPhone in OCTOBER with the Catalina dumpster fire release! The Apple discussion forum post for this cluster of post-iTunes syncing bugs with Finder has 80 pages of comments now...
 

NoImDirtyDan

macrumors newbie
Jun 18, 2020
16
64
Right around the kids bedtime. Does anyone know, if I start the YouTube stream and pause it, wether I can then hit play and carry on where I left off?
Yes, that should work fine as long as you keep your browser open.
 

Mr. Awesome

macrumors 6502
Feb 24, 2016
328
700
Idaho, USA
I actually like following the live MR blog of the keynote ...
When the live updates actually work, that is...

MacRumors is usually a pretty solid site for me, but the event live updated almost never work like they’re supposed to.
- - Post merged: - -

West Europe (Mainland) is the best place to be watching this, right after diner.
Aha, but then you have to wait all day to watch it! Where I am, I can sleep in a little and then watch it.
 

deannnnn

macrumors 68020
Jun 4, 2007
2,026
273
New York City & South Florida
I'm actually going to watch on YouTube. I love YouTube's live functionality where you can rewind, pause, and then jump back to live so you can catch anything you missed -- especially if you're multitasking at work!
 

justperry

macrumors G4
Aug 10, 2007
10,604
6,096
I'm a rolling stone.
When the live updates actually work, that is...

MacRumors is usually a pretty solid site for me, but the event live updated almost never work like they’re supposed to.
- - Post merged: - -



Aha, but then you have to wait all day to watch it! Where I am, I can sleep in a little and then watch it.
At least I can get a beer with that, 10 am is too early for alcoholic beverages.;)
 

nph

macrumors 6502a
Feb 9, 2005
698
49
Will "state of platforms" be availble without a paid developer account?
 

HiRez

macrumors 603
Jan 6, 2004
5,872
1,855
Western US
ARM Macs will be great, but I really hope they made major progress on SwiftUI, great potential but not realistically useable right now.

Lastly, my long-time wish if for some way to use Swift and Apple frameworks (quite possibly SwiftUI) directly for web applications, the world is increasingly moving to web/cloud-based applications and Apple has nothing here. If you want to use Swift on the web for more than limited server-side running on Linux, you're out of luck. Of course Javascript ES6 looks a lot more Swift-like, but I'd still prefer to use Swift and Apple frameworks if I could.
 
Last edited:
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.