How to wipe a machine ready for return to Apple

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Philgr, Dec 27, 2013.

  1. Philgr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    Lakes - UK
    #1
    As per the title

    My new iMac is faulty and apple are sending me a replacement machine, how do i wipe all my stuff off it, accounts, applications passwords etc..

    Thanking in advance

    Phil G
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Boot to the Recovery System.
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4718
    Open Disk Utility
    Choose your hard drive, and Erase your hard drive.
    Quit Disk Utility
    Shut Down
    - Done.
     
  3. Apple fanboy macrumors P6

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #3
    But back up your stuff first! Ideally on 2 separate HD's.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    OP would be transferring everything to the replacement Mac anyway.
    I can't think of a reason to waste time backing up a computer that one is returning.
     
  5. Tumbleweed666 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Near London, UK.
    #5
    The reason will probably occur to you a few minutes after the new mac fails and before you backed it up, and the wipe on the old mac finishes.

    You don't backup up "a computer" you back up "your data"
     
  6. Philgr thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    Lakes - UK
    #6
    Thanks guys - all my data is backed up already

    Just want to return the machine in a " out of the box condition "

    PG
     
  7. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
  8. Philgr thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    Lakes - UK
    #8
    My Replacement iMac has arrived - top service from apple

    done this - :)

    worked a treat
     
  9. zeropointzero macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #9
    So, if I read this correctly, delete the HD titled Mac HD? Not the entire HD?
     
  10. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #10
    No, you didn't read this correctly, and is not what I suggested.
    The "Mac HD" is just a partition on your hard drive (the default from Apple is still "Macintosh HD", but whatever you have on your own hard drive.)
    Anyway, choose the hard drive (which will be the line with manufacturer's info, as you may have more than one partition), and Erase your hard drive.
     
  11. zeropointzero macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #11
    Got it. Thank you.
     

Share This Page