How to work on a Macbook Pro with the lid closed

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Originalbeanie, Jul 25, 2011.

1. Originalbeanie macrumors newbie

Hi, first post here :)

ok so im planning on moving out and getting my own place soon! (cant wait :p) and because i will have more space im planning on buying a lage tv and running my macbook through that.

Ive looked into how to do it with the lid shut, but im more concerned with my sound system (im a music production student).

my audio interface runs off usb and im wondering if this can also work with the lid closed and if so how?

thanks in advance for answers

2. simsaladimbamba

It will work the same, as the computer is still running in clamshell mode (or if you use InsomniaX) just like it would if the lid is open.

Btw, a TV is not a good computer monitor due to its size and small resolution and therefore big pixels (30" TV with maybe 1920 x 1080 pixel will look worse than a 21" computer display with the same resolution).

3. Ronnoco macrumors 68030

Ronnoco

A nice feature in Lion is that when you close the lid with an external display attached (in my case a 27" ACD) you don't have to wait for the MBP to sleep, then wake it with the keyboard or mouse...it automatically senses the external display and makes the switch (and very quickly I might add)...something that, at least for me, didn't happen in SL...:)

4. Originalbeanie thread starter macrumors newbie

ahh thanks guys, im running snow leopard atm and see no reason too change, especially because my audio workstations work perfectly as they are, changing to lion will just bring up problems atm, i will wait until they have updated everything.

as for tv over computer screen i might take your advice, also need something i can play xbox on, and i would prefer a bigger screen so i can fit more on it :p ive got freinds who have different set ups so i will check them out

5. Tydog07 macrumors 6502