How upgradable is iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by sash, Sep 8, 2008.

  1. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm planning to get an iMac for my kid (14 years old). I've always had 'pro' models, so no personal experience with the monoblocks whatsoever.

    I'm thinking about 24" model with the standard config, in order to upgrade in the future by myself all the things that are upgradable. It should last a year of 5 (I mean, it would be great if that's possible).

    As I understand, Apple claims that only RAM is upgradable by the user. How difficult is it to upgrade HDD? Is it possible to upgrade graphics card? I mean by yourself, not in a service centre?

    Thanks!
    sash
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    I don't believe it is that difficult, but the HD should be easy, the CPU much more difficult.

    TEG
     
  3. The Hammer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #3
    2.8 or 3.06 standard config? Larger HD and video card capacity with the 3.06.
     
  4. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #4
    The RAM is easily upgradable. The hard drive can be upgraded, however I don't recommend it, and it will void your warranty. The graphics card is not upgradable at all.
     
  5. sash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #5
    2,8 for sure... with ATI card.

    Thanks!
    sash
     
  6. applepalace.com macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    You can upgrade the memory. If you install snow leopard you wont have a memory limit, its just the price :) Harddrive upgrade can be done with a faster one but its hard to do and kills the warranty unless you are buying a used iMac.

    Old version iMacs are hard to replace the HDD, you need to remove the front cover too.
     
  7. sash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #7
    Yeah, I'll do that only after the warranty period will expire.

    On all the models?
     
  8. sash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #8
    Hi,

    So there won't be the 4 GB limit? It looks like 2 x 2GB are the maximum possible RAM modules at the moment (for iMac).

    sash
     
  9. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #9
    Changing the hard drive isn't so easy. I wouldn't recommend it unless you have experience with getting into tightly integrated systems like laptops. I did it to my iMac and it was the least enjoyable tinkering I've ever done with a computer. I ended up with one screw left over after repeatedly trying and failing to get it into a tight space (at the top left). I also slightly bent one of the hooks holding on the back cover.

    I won't buy another iMac unless Apple makes it as easy to replace the HDD as in the MacBook, or even the Mini.
     
  10. sash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #10
    Hi,

    Yes, I've replaced HDD in my MBP, but I've heard iMacs are much more difficult in this respect...

    sash
     
  11. ascender macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #11
    I've done the HDD upgrade and there's some excellent guides on the web. I'd say that anyone with some common sense can do it, just take your time and follow the guides.

    Anyone who is happy working with the inside of PCs could probably figure out how to do it themselves, but the guides will save you some time in terms of how many screws, where they are etc.

    Or, you just get a bigger hdd when you buy it :)
     
  12. sash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #12
    Thanks to all of you, guys!

    I've ordered this machine (delivered next day), and I'm just amazed at how great this thing works and looks.

    Thanks a lot for your advices once again!

    sash
     
  13. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #13
    Or just buy external drives as needed. Since these iMacs have a FireWire 800 port available, the external transfer rate penalty is minimized if you use that interface! ;)
     

Share This Page