How well does the 11inch ultimate drive the 27inch display?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by JMB1911, Jul 12, 2011.

  1. JMB1911 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #1
    I will be given an 11 inch ultimate air to use for work. I am thinking of buying a 27 inch cinema display to go with it.

    I will be using email, iChat and working with several large spreadsheets on google docs. Also I'm sure I'll have several windows open of google chrome.

    Will the air be able to handle all that on the large display without slowing down?

    If it acts "not smooth" it will make me crazy.

    Thanks.
     
  2. pil0tflame macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Location:
    London, Ontario
    #2
    Yes, it should perform smoothly just as if it wasn't even hooked up to an external display.

    Driving high resolution displays with 2D graphics is a piece of cake for even the most entry level of modern GPUs.
     
  3. rovitotv macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #3
    Yes, I also have an 11" MBA Ultimate and it drives a 27" display very nicely. I have a DVI connection to keep it all digital. My suggestion is that you consider other LCD panels before you purchase an Apple Cin Display (ACD). The ACD's are very expensive and just don't seem to be worth the cost to me.
     
  4. Bearxor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #4
    Yeah, I'd say that unless you have a VERY specific reason for buying the Apple display, you should definitely consider others.

    The Apple display is very nice and having the built-in MDP and Magsafe charger is a huge plus but just not worth it for most people.

    Something like a Dell Ultrasharp U2410 is still a nice IPS display:
    http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/...ynoteSearch&baynote_bnrank=0&baynote_irrank=0

    But is about 1/2 price, at the cost of some resolution. You can buy a MDP to DP adapter and an extra Magsafe and still come out ahead.

    Honestly, for most people, a 24" monitor that does 1920x1080 and runs like $200 on sale or something will work just fine.
     
  5. aleni macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #5
    i just bought 13" MBP with core i7 processor, i believe the next MBA would have the same intel HD 3000 as my mbp.

    I plugged my MBP into 27" ACD, and it's smooth, but when i launch the launchpad, i can feel the transition is not quite smooth, but it's not really that noticeable. for everything else is smooth and you don't have to worry about it.

    when u said u'll be getting a MBA, is it the current gen or the next gen? the current gen has Nvidia 320M which is much better than the intel HD 3000. so i think you will be good to go.
     
  6. EasyRider macrumors regular

    EasyRider

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    #6
    A large monitor running 1920x1080 is not great, it starts looking cheap at 24" and up (but kinda depends how close you sit to it). I had a 24" and it looked like crap, just not enough pixels for that large of a screen. 24" needs to be 1920x1200 to look nice (like the above mentioned Dell).

    Also a great feature of the nicer Dell monitors is the ability to rotate them.
     
  7. Gordy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #7
    My 2009 mac mini runs the 27in ACD fine. I'm waiting for the MBA refresh to get one of those. There are plenty of people using the current MBA with the 27in ACD with no issues. If you have any concerns try asking in your local Apple store to try it out. The did the same for me when I wondering about the cord length being an issue.
     
  8. Bearxor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #8
    That's why I said 'most people'.

    Very few people I know couldn't care less how many pixels their monitor has as long as it's big. They don't care about viewing angles or backlight bleed.

    Now, if it was me ;), I'd buy the Dell Ultrasharp.

    But most people seem to get away just fine with the 'race to the bottom' monitors, especially for casual usage.
     
  9. ccs569 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    #9
    But what are the odds that the new 11" or 13" with the hd3000 will be able to smoothly drive SC2 on an external 24" monitor? Will that be pushing it?

    Thanks.
     
  10. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #10
    On very low settings, you may be in with a shot. Otherwise, I wouldn't bet on it.
     
  11. pil0tflame macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Location:
    London, Ontario
    #11
    If the new 2011 MBA has an Intel HD 3000 GPU (as is extremely likely) it will struggle to run StarCraft 2 smoothly, even with the lowest graphical settings & resolution. It might run SC2, but I strongly doubt it will be smooth.

    By "smooth" I mean a fairly consistent 30+ frames per second.
     
  12. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
  13. striker33 macrumors 65816

    striker33

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #13
    If you have used a 27" high res monitor before, then go for it.

    If not, then you'll be fine with a decent 1920 x 1080 smaller monitor.

    Personally after using an iMac 27" a year ago, every other monitor has just been awful. Even for casual use, it's awesome being able to have 3 browsers open on the same screen.

    Also, your question is answered on Apple's website. They wouldn't advertise all their MacBooks working with an ACD if it didn't work well. Everything will work flawlessly unless graphically intensive.
     
  14. ccs569 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    #14
    Thanks for the feedback. Will there likely also be an issue if I were to stream hd video on the external monitor?
     
  15. Curren~Sea macrumors regular

    Curren~Sea

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #15
  16. striker33 macrumors 65816

    striker33

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #16
    HD video shouldnt really be an issue at all. If a cheap Apple TV can do it then it would be pretty abysmal if a £850+ laptop couldnt ;)
     
  17. zinka macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    #17
    It's a little sluggish for things like resizing windows. You will definitely notice that you're on an Air and not a faster Mac. Also, mine kernel-panics if I use it for something very CPU-intensive in clamshell mode. (It doesn't if I leave the laptop physically open, even if the screen is off.)
     
  18. BENJMNS macrumors 6502

    BENJMNS

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #18
    yea not sure what others are smoking here, but even with my 13 ult, it's not smooth like you wouldn't notice it. you do. go run a youtube 1080P clip on full screen and it won't be completely smooth, even worse on the 11. how do i know? i had both at the same time for about a month. both ultimates.

    open up an excel spreadsheet. resize it. move it around. it's not smooth.

    does it keep me from being productive? heck no. how well does it run it? just fine, but it's not perfect. and the 13 IS smoother than the 11. but again you'll be able to get all your work done just fine.

    27" ACD guy here.
     
  19. soapsudz macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    #19
    The poor little thing kernel-panics because it's overheating :) In clamshell mode, all that heat from a CPU running at full speed can't be dissipated through the casing because the display sits on top.
     
  20. aleni macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #20
    how did u use external ACD but with your mbp open and using the ACD as the only monitor. i'm currently in clamshell mode but i really want to open the mbp so the air can give it a little breath.
     
  21. KillerTree macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #21
    1920x1200 is barely bigger than 1920x1080
     
  22. striker33 macrumors 65816

    striker33

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #22
    1080 youtube clips are fine for me on the air plugged into a 27" ACD.

    Used my fathers to test it when he visited yesterday. I wasnt using flash though for the video, but then who would?!
     
  23. striker33 macrumors 65816

    striker33

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #23
    Theres a simple fix. Buy something that allows your MBA to stand vertically while in clamshell. For example, the TwelveSouth BookArc.
     
  24. Bottomsup macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    #24
    How do you know if you had a kernal panic and what are the implications of having one?
     
  25. philxor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #25
    I've used my MBA to drive a 1920x1080 24" display doing all kinds of things graphic intensive, like watching HD video, and never had my 13" MBA kernel panic in clamshell mode. Sure the fans start running fast but I've never experienced a kernel panic. I'm inclined to believe there may be something wrong hardware-wise if you are getting kernel panics. I use the Bookarc now but only very recently, up until then it just sat on my desk.

    Kernel panic you will usually see a grey screen asking you to restart your computer. Just do a google search for "osx kernel panic" and you will come up with lots of information.
     

Share This Page