Howcome Multiclutch works in iTunes for me?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mgpg89, Nov 20, 2008.

  1. mgpg89 macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #1
    Normally, Multiclutch isn't supposed to work in iTunes since it's a Carbon app and Multiclutch only supports Cocoa apps, right?

    Well, the past hour, multiclutch has been working just fine in iTunes.
    Swipes assigned to previous/next track.
    Rotates to volume controls.
    etc...


    I find this weird because a month ago, it didn't work and I'm still in the same beta version. How is this possible?

    UPDATE: And just like that, it's gone again ...
     
  2. bki122689 macrumors 6502

    bki122689

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #2
    ummm apple maybe apple just came out with an itunes update and now it supports multitouch
     
  3. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #3
    It doesn't matter if iTunes supports multitouch or not, that's what MultiClutch is for.
    It does matter however if the app is a carbon or cocoa one ...
    Normally iTunes shouldn't work with MultiClutch but I'm absolutely positive that I had it working for about an hour or two.

    Then I put my MBP to sleep and when I tried again afterwards, it didn't work anymore.
    Maybe there's some sort of backdoor which the developer can use to make MultiClutch available in all apps?
     
  4. bki122689 macrumors 6502

    bki122689

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #4
    what are you doing on the touch pad in itunes. I wanna see if it works for me?
     
  5. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #5
    Swipes assigned to previous/next track.
    Swipe up to play/pause.
    Rotates to volume adjustments (along with GimmeSomeTune -> iTunes plugin)

    Haven't changed my settings but now it doesn't work anymore.
    Can't recall what I've done differently back when it did work.
    Good luck.
     
  6. bki122689 macrumors 6502

    bki122689

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #6
    doesn't work for me i tried everything.

    hmmm this is strange let me know if it works for you again.
     
  7. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
  8. fishniw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #8
    ha, same thing happened to me last night. I was like, what i thought iTunes was carbon, how is this working. Then, a few hours later it won't work again
     
  9. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #9
    Glad to hear I'm not losing it then.
    I wonder if this makes it possible for the developer to find a way around the cocoa-only restriction.
     
  10. bki122689 macrumors 6502

    bki122689

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #10
    man i wish it could work for me.
    sounds sooooo cool lol
     
  11. fishniw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #11
    the last two days its been working for me in finder as well which it hadn't in the past. I guess I'll just enjoy it will while it lasts
     
  12. DeusInvictus7 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    #12
    it worked for me for about an hour last week i think, since i have a global swipe down to minimize, and it was actually doing it in itunes...i was trying to figure out how to replicate it, but nothing worked...
     
  13. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #13
    It's working for me again as I type this... wonder how long it'll last this time.
     
  14. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #14
    UPDATE: Still working in iTunes and I also added the Finder itself to the Multiclutch prefPane and I'm glad to report the Finder is working with Multiclutch as well.

    Zoom in/out opens/closes a finder window.


    For people who want to add it: The finder is located in /System/Library/CoreServices/
     
  15. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #15
    Logged out a few minutes ago, logged back in and it stopped working.
    So there must be something I triggered that made it work and the proces must've stopped once I logged out.

    update: a few minutes after the fresh login, the finder started working again. (haven't changed finder prefs in multiclutch since ...)
    so this 'trigger' isn't carbon-wide, just application specific...


    any help/input would be appreciated.
     
  16. fishniw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #16
    yeah i have no idea why its working in finder. two days in a row now for me and i test it quite a bit. there should be someone who has an answer as to why
     
  17. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #17
    I logged out.
    I restarted.
    I did a clean install.

    And it's still working in Finder for me ...
    That means there must be a way to get it working in iTunes again too ...
    I hope W. Henderson hasn't stopped developing this amazing app.
     
  18. bki122689 macrumors 6502

    bki122689

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #18
    did it work after the new update of 10.5.6 ???
     
  19. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #19
    Yes, it did.
     
  20. bki122689 macrumors 6502

    bki122689

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #20
    crap, i tried everything including what you guys suggested. Still won't work for me.
     
  21. jlocalled macrumors member

    jlocalled

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #21
    I have gestures mapped with MultiClutch for both Finder and iTunes. When I start my MacBook Pro, the gestures will never work, however if i open any window for that application (Get Info for Finder, Equalizer for iTunes), it will suddenly work for the rest of the time the app is open, unless I sleep or close it. Absolutely no idea why this is.
     
  22. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #22
    That's great!
    If that's a workaround to the cocoa restriction, I'm pretty sure the developer can integrate it into the application.
     
  23. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #23
    update: this does not work for me.
     
  24. Solemony macrumors 6502

    Solemony

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Location:
    Wonderland
    #24
    I believe that works on my MB also... O.O cool..
     
  25. jlocalled macrumors member

    jlocalled

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #25
    I say it's a Variable thing. Working on some different Configurations.

    Bindings for iTunes that I have set : Swipe Left=Command-LeftArrow, SwipeRight=Command-RightArrow.

    It works here on a MacBook Pro Unibody 2.4GHz Standard Config with Mac OS X 10.5.5 Build 9F2114 with all Updates installed except for the EFI update and the Mac OS X 10.5.6 update. And I have Multiclutch Version b4.

    I just tested it. Still Works once I manually open Equalizer or Help.
     

Share This Page