How'd I do?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MultiFinder17, Feb 1, 2016.

  1. MultiFinder17 macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #1
    Morning all! I've finally done what I've been telling friends and family I would do for years now; I sold my iMac and bought myself a used Mac Pro. I found a lightly-used 5,1 2.8 Quad on Craigslist for $750; the machine is in great shape, with only a couple little scuffs on the case, and the inside is immaculate. It came with 16GB RAM, which I'm hoping to bump to 32GB or 48GB depending on what my budget will allow. The computer will be used as my primary hub machine (productivity, video editing, Xcode), as well as my gaming rig; I don't game super heavily, but I can already tell the difference between this and my 2011 iMac, even with the factory GPU in it.

    $750 seemed like a very fair price for this machine, especially in the condition that it's in; how'd I do?
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    That's a low price for my area. But CL prices tend to be very local, so I don't know how you did for Tampa.
     
  3. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #3
    For the machine you described - I Think You did GREAT!

    Lou
     
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    Welcome ! You may have purchased the best machine Apple will ever make.

    Everything you need to know is on this board. Read and you will find answers.
     
  5. MultiFinder17 thread starter macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #5
    Thanks all! I'm really enjoying the machine so far - first thing I did was take the pair of external HDDs that I had on the iMac out of their enclosures and pop them into the box; it's wonderful not to have them strews about any longer. I'm impressed at just how quiet this machine is - it also actually seems to run a bit cooler than the iMac ever did, and puts out less heat. All considered, I'm incredibly happy with my purchase and am looking forward to a long, happy life of service from this machine!

    BTW, the one I got was this one, but with 16GB RAM.
     
  6. MultiFinder17 thread starter macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #6
    Question for you all - would 2x16GB and 2x4GB work together to give me 40GB of RAM?
     
  7. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #7
    ^^^^The 4,1 and 5,1 cMPs use 3 channel RAM CPUs. Slots 3 and 4 are electrically tied together. For the fastest possible RAM speed in a 5,1 cMO, use 3 RAM Dimms that are matched and are of the same speed and leave the 4th slot MT. To get where your trying to go you would need 3 8s or 3 16s.

    Lou
     
  8. MultiFinder17 thread starter macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #8
    If I'm not terribly concerned with absolute top memory performance, would it work to have 1&2 be 16 and 3&4 be 4? I mean, would it boot and be recognized and usable?
     
  9. scott.n macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    #9
    Yes, theoretically, but you can't mix registered and unregistered RAM. Most (all?) 16GB Dimms are registered. The 4 GB Dimms (guessing that you're planning on keeping the ones that are already in your MP) are probably unregistered.
     
  10. MultiFinder17 thread starter macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #10
    What's in the Mac Pro right now are four of these; it says there that this is registered memory, so it should in theory work? I'm considering mixing it with two of these, albeit from a less expensive source, which are also registered.
     
  11. scott.n macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    #11
    Yes, that should work.
     
  12. MultiFinder17 thread starter macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #12
    Thanks! One last question - would $120 for 2x16GB for this machine be a decent price?
     

Share This Page