How's editing 4K video on the 15" 2016 MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mattcube64, Jan 14, 2017.

  1. mattcube64 macrumors 65816

    mattcube64

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    Missouri
    #1
    Hi all!

    Seems no matter how much Google-Fu I do, I get two complete ends of the "4K editing" spectrum. You've got professionals who are working on feature films, complaining the thing can't handle crazy workflows and super-high bit rate 4K as well as their 24 core desktops.

    And then on the other side, you have people editing super low bitrate 4K from their GoPro and all is fine.

    But there are a lot of us DSLR users out there shooting decently high-bitrate 4K with our 5D Mk IVs and the upcoming GH5. Anyone using the new MBP as their primary 4K editing machine? How is it?
     
  2. NiKeZz macrumors 6502

    NiKeZz

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Location:
    Topeka, Kansas
    #2
    Just bought one yesterday, but all of my GoPro 4k files are on a FW800 drive that I can't use yet. Will update when I am able to transfer the files.
     
  3. edenorchestra macrumors member

    edenorchestra

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  4. mattcube64 thread starter macrumors 65816

    mattcube64

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    Missouri
    #4
    Awesome - looking forward to hearing impressions.

    Glad to hear good things, eden.
     
  5. redfuse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    #5
    Check out this and this video, as well as this article.
    Conclusion: it should handle 4K fine (especially when using FCPX)
     
  6. tCC_ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    #6
    My 2.0Ghz non touchbar 13 inch does Mavic Pro 4k without proxy media as well with fcpx, but I guess 4k isn't 4k (bitrates etc)
     
  7. Gaprofitt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #7

    If you're using FCP, it's great. It sucks with Adobe products.. My rule is, Adobe Products, Nvidia GPU.. Dell XPS 9560..
     
  8. jhero macrumors 6502

    jhero

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Not near an Apple Store
    #8
    Anyone with experience editing 10bit GH5 footage in Premiere?
     

Share This Page