How's iOS 8 doing on your devices?

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by jian, Jun 6, 2014.

1. jian macrumors regular

Ok, I am not a developer and I bought a UDID registration for my iPhone 5S(for safety just in case if Apple decides to deactivate non registered iOS devices) and I upgraded my iPad 3 CDMA without an UDID reg.

Now, granted, iPhone 5S is way faster than iPad 3, but there seems to be more crashes and more bugs on iPad 3 than my iPhone 5S, not to mention it's also a lot slower than my 5S too.

5S is doing OK, there are some bugs, but as for every day tasks, such as phone, text, and emails, it's doing really well for a beta 1.

There are obviously some bugs that I encounter here and there with third party apps but that's really out of anyone's control at the moment.

How is iOS 8 doing on your devices and what devices are you using?
    Also... how long does it typically take for apple to release beta 2? Probably only Cupertino knows.

2. Kariya macrumors 68000

Kariya

iOS 8 beta is worse than Yosemite beta that's for sure. But it's early days. Things will prove eventually.

3. hrrslmpk macrumors member

I'm a registered developer and I welcome a vocal community addressing all the minor and large bugs in the betas even if they aren't developers they are helping out by potentially addressing bugs and issues that other developers and apple may have overlooked.

4. iMacBooked macrumors 6502a

iMacBooked

Back on topic guys.. I believe beta 2 of iOS 7 was released on June 24th last year, so maybe that could be somewhat of a reference?

5. Tammster macrumors 6502

Tammster

So, to actually answer your question (as another non-developer) I've only installed it on my iPad mini (original) so far. It's definitely useable and I've only had one app not work (it's been addressed in a few other threads). Definitely slow and buggy... I've done lots of restarting but the ipad hasn't restarted itself yet.