how's leopard on a g4 powerbook?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by azngamer808, Mar 21, 2008.

  1. azngamer808 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    #1
    so i just bought a new macbook pro and am loving leopard. My old powerbook laptop still works wonderfully , but since i'm still running Panther it just seems kinda bleh. i've checked the minimum system requirements for leopard on the apple website and it looks like my laptop should be able to handle it. I'm just concerned about other unmentioned things like my L2 cache being so small and the front side bus also being very low. so basically i'm asking how well will leopard run on my old laptop?

    my specs are:
    1.5 ghz powerpc g4
    2 bg ddr sdram
    512kb L2 cache
    167mhz Front side bus

    thanks for the help!
     
  2. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #2
    It will run great. I put it on my wife's iBook G4 1.33/512MB and it is pretty snappy. I would upgrade the RAM if she did anything more than surf the web ;)
     
  3. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    It ran on my G4 in a manner I'd describe as "tolerable for normal usage." That was a 1.25GHz G4 with 1.5GB of RAM. The RAM definitely helped it along.

    I'd say for low-demand usage it will run in a perfectly acceptable manner on the machine in question.
     
  4. azngamer808 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    #4
    great! i wasn't planning on playing games on it and i'm pretty sure any video editing i'll play with will be on my other laptop, so hearing these replies is just what i wanted to see. yay!
     
  5. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #5
    On my 12" 1.5GHz PB 1.25GB RAM it works easily as well as Tiger did. Just as smooth if not smoother. I wouldn't go back to Tiger.
     
  6. acearchie macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #6
    I can say exactly the same as above as I have the same specs....

    Ive only recently upgraded the ram though and it still worked the same or even better than tiger with 512mb of ram!
     
  7. masse macrumors 6502a

    masse

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Location:
    MA/GA
  8. zamboni52 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
  9. Sogo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    #9
    I would say that it runs alright, but not Great. Granted I am feeling the age of my computer for what I do at least. Oh, I have the exact same specs as the original poster.
     
  10. HengenJL macrumors 6502

    HengenJL

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #10
    honestly Leopard works great for me.

    PowerBook G4 1.5GHz
    1.5GB RaM

    and Leopard runs smooth as silk. Spaces is quite possibly my favorite improvement to the OSX platform. Every once in a great while a program will have and issue, but a simple Force Quit and relaunch the program and its all back to norma :)
     
  11. NIPRING macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Waukesha WI

Share This Page