iPad Pro How's Remote Desktop with 12.9 inch iPad?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by darkarn, Apr 8, 2017.

  1. darkarn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #1
    Has anyone here used remote desktop apps like Teamviewer with their 12.9 inch iPad?

    If so, how good/bad is it so far?

    Thanks!
     
  2. mlemonds macrumors 6502a

    mlemonds

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #2
    I use team viewer a fair amount. It works well, but 'clicking' with the pencil doesn't work very well.

    Clicking with the pencil doesn't work when you want to directly click on the screen where you want the cursor to click. It only works in the mode where you slide the cursor around and click anywhere on the screen to register a mouse click.

    Hard to describe
     
  3. profets macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #3
    I've used TeamViewer quite a bit on 9.7 and 12.9 inch iPads. Heck, I've even used it on my phone in urgent situations.

    TeamViewer does a decent job for remote control. It's useable, but at times touch targets on MacOS elements can be challenging at times.
     
  4. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    Hmm does the same thing happen without the Apple Pen?

    Something like it is not easy to click on the correct elements?
    --- Post Merged, Apr 9, 2017 ---
    Also, how does it look like? Does the screen look better on the 12.9 as compared to the 9.7?

    I find the text to be a bit small at times on my 9.7 inch iPad Air
     
  5. profets macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #5
    Precisely (UI elements). It definitely looked better on the 12.9 - but I only used the 12.9 for about a month. Most of the time I'm on a 9.7 as well.

    Actually what I was happy with was that TeamViewer had made the app optimized for the 12.9 so you really do make use of that extra real estate.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 9, 2017 ---
    Funny, I never thought about trying the Pencil within it. I see what @mlemonds is saying. You can use the Pencil to drag the cursor around the screen and sometimes to drag or highlight items. But can't use it to perform a mouse click. Too bad, it would be helpful for the small UI elements.
     
  6. mossme89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #6
    IF YOU'RE HAVING ISSUES WITH RDP AND LINUX, DO THIS.

    Get the Remote Desktop app by Evolve Networks. Free. It's the only one I've found that works with Linux rdp. The other ones do not register keyboard input. Save yourself the aggravation
     
  7. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    Nice, hopefully this means that I can see the remote computer's screen much better once I get a 12.9 inch iPad!

    I see, so tapping the Pencil on the iPad is not considered by the app as a mouse click?

    It says it is for connecting to Windows desktops though: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/remote-desktop-universal-app/id502093014?mt=8
     
  8. mossme89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #8
    Idk what to tell you other than it works.
     
  9. mlemonds macrumors 6502a

    mlemonds

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #9
    Oddly no, using your finger works as expected. Kind of a pain because the pencil is so much better for smaller touchpoints.
     
  10. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    Oh I see, thanks; was under the impression that it works with only Windows computers

    Ah I see, hopefully this is fixed soon; I do have problems using my fingers for smaller UI stuff too!
     
  11. mlemonds macrumors 6502a

    mlemonds

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #11
    Depending on how you are using it, can change how much of a setback it is. Although it is an inconvenience for me, I still find that I can be productive. I use the pencil to guide the cursor and then use my thumb or finger (depending on how I am holding and using the iPad) to activate a 'click'
     
  12. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    Thanks, you are right, I can work with this workaround too
     
  13. profets macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #13
    It works with Macs? The app that you're linking to is for the remote desktop protocol that MS uses (which I've always thought was fantastic in how well it works). Is there an RDP option on the Mac that you would be connecting to? Evolve does seem to have a VNC app as well. That could likely be used with MacOS.
     

Share This Page