How's the MBP Shopping Experience at Best Buy?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Sudaddy, Mar 2, 2011.

1. Sudaddy macrumors member

I am thinking of buying my first Mac laptop - MacBookPro 15'' low end. I have raked up points worth $150 on my Best Buy Rewards zone, plus I have a BB gift card worth $100, and I am hoping BB will match the student discount (since I am a valid student), for another $100. So in total, if I buy from BB, I might end up getting a discount worth $350. But, my question is, how's the MBP shopping experience at BB when compared to Apple Retail or online Store? Does (God forbid) Best Buy install any crap on the MBP before selling it to me? Do they try to shove the GeekSquad protection crap for MBP? Do they match the student discount? Anyone who bought their Mac from BB, care to share your experiences?

2. Chrisw37 macrumors newbie

I have a Best Buy Macbook 13" with no issues. All the same discounts applied that I priced out at the Apple Store. The only reason I went to BB is they are 5 miles from the house compared to 20. I even got the discounts on iWork.

3. jolly romulus macrumors newbie

I tried to buy at best buy for the reasons mentioned above, but they wouldn't give me the student discount ($200 on the high end 15"). Needless to say that was a deal breaker.

4. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

ECUpirate44

More annoying than anything. Their going to try to push you to buy every accessory out there. Just go in there and say I want this MBP with Apple Care and walk out.

5. Apple Corps macrumors 68030

You should be asking these questions to BestBuy.

6. HBOC macrumors 68020

As far as I know, Best Buy WILL NOT match the edu discount. They wouldn't when I bought my MacBook Pro. So I just went to Apple.

7. snakemajestic macrumors member