HP is getting lazy

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by shawnathan, Apr 28, 2009.

1. shawnathan macrumors member

shawnathan

I'm getting married in June, and being a designer by trade I decided to make our invitations. They were to be printed on 8.5" x 5.5" paper, however this is not a standard desktop printing size. So no problem, I just figured I would create a custom size in my printing options and I'd be fine. I have an HP Photosmart 7760w by the way. Granted it just turned 5 years old, and wasn't a top of the line printer back then, but it does a great job for what I need it for. So I made my custom size and went to print. The paper starts to go through, but as soon as it gets ready to lay ink down it freezes and says on the screen, "Paper is too small. Choose a larger paper size. Job was cancelled. Press OK."

I soon realized this happens on EVERY custom sized paper I try to use now. I made sure all my drivers were up to date and they were. So I called HP support and they were going to charge me $30 to speak to a tech, so I opted to go the free route and use the email tech support. A Couple days later, they responded saying that since Leopard now includes basic printing functionality for just about all of their printers, they have stopped developing their Mac printer drivers once the printers reach a certain age. Well, basic printing apparently ONLY includes standard paper sizes, nothing customizable at all.