hp Laptop (Windows 10) Not Connecting to Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by HoosBruce, Dec 13, 2015.

  1. HoosBruce macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #1
    We just purchased a new Airport Extreme (6th Gen), and have had it running the past few days and it has worked perfectly with our Apple devices. We attempted to connect to the network via an hp laptop running Windows 10 today, and it will not connect. It recognizes the wireless network, but does not ask for a password, a network key or anything. It still connects to the old wireless network running from the same modem/router, but not to the new network we set up through the AE.


    What should we do? We have researched a lot of things, but nothing conclusive, and it also seems that Windows 10 and the 802.11ac Airport Extreme do not play well together.
     
  2. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #2
    I will only take a guess here - your HP should also be able to connect via 802.11n.

    If you can, try your laptop via cable first and see if it connects.
    After that,

    1) remove old WiFi settings entirely
    2) create a new WiFi connection for your AE router
    3) Turn off the laptop, remove the Ethernet cable
    4) Turn on the laptop. See if the WiFi connection works.

    Alternative is to make sure your network settings on the laptop is set for DHCP and WiFi.
    You can go to the terminal (c: prompt and type in the following two commands --->

    ipconfig /release
    ipconfig /renew

    From the above try different combinations. You shouldn't have to really do all that but without knowing more details
    about your set up, I am just giving a very generic brute force means of possible connectivity.
     
  3. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #3
    A driver update could do the trick. As it's an HP laptop, I can almost guarantee that the drivers will be completely outdated from stock.

    Please can you press Windows+R, then type devmgmt.msc to open Device Manager, and expand your Network Adapters to advise which model your network adapter is? The reason is that if they don't have an updated driver on HP's website, you'll likely need to source it directly from the manufacturer's website.

    If it's an Intel wireless card, as a lot of them are these days, you can download Intel Driver Utility to find an updated driver. If it downloads and installs a new version, it may say 'Failed', but it should have installed. You can quickly verify this by checking the driver version/date in Device Manager (right-click, Properties, 'Driver' tab) before and after the driver update. The Intel ones always say failed for some reason, even if they've applied.

    Also, ensure you're on High Performance, as Power Saver mode completely throttles Wi-Fi capability and Balanced isn't too good on battery either. To open the power options, press Windows+R, and type powercfg.cpl.

    Speak with you shortly.
     
  4. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #4
    Why are you using old scripts? On OS X use the proper network command
    Code:
    networksetup
     
  5. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #5
    They're not on OS X, they have an HP laptop with Win 10
     

Share This Page