HP MediaSmart Server EX485 and apple TV

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by MapleLeaf Mag, Feb 14, 2009.

  1. MapleLeaf Mag macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #1
    Does anybody have a HP MediaSmart Server EX485 set up with their Apple TV and is using it to stream movies from it? I've read several posts on various sites many of which contradict eachother on this point. The HP on-line support wsan't much better with a "I think it should work" reply!
     
  2. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #2
    You need to connect to the server via remote desktop, and install iTunes on it. That's the only way to get it to stream to the Apple TV.
     
  3. MapleLeaf Mag thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #3
    Thanks jaw04005. Are you speaking from first hand experience and if so how does the HP MSS perform in your setup? Useful to know before I hand over the cash for one of my own.
     
  4. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #4
    From personal experience, I have the EX470 model, which I paid $320 for back in December (it has on sale at hpshopping). I love my MediaSmart Server. It serves as my central iTunes server and media repository. It's packed full of music, photos and movies.

    I do also have Windows PCs, which the MediaSmart makes backing up extremely easily. I'm looking forward to the upcoming free software update that will add Time Machine backup capability. Word in the Windows Home Server community is that Microsoft is going to release another big update to WHS sometime this summer, which will be free and add additional features.
     
  5. dmm219 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    #5
    I'm confused, doesn't the HP MSS support Time Machine out of the box? Thats what I was lead to believe.
     
  6. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #6
    The new models that have just started shipping do. Last years MediaSmarts may have a software update coming which adds support for Time Machine but nothing has been confirmed yet.
     
  7. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #7
    They announced in December that both Time Machine compatibility and the Amazon S3 plug-in will be forthcoming to existing MediaSmart owners.

    http://www.wegotserved.co.uk/2008/1...ming-to-existing-hp-mediasmart-server-owners/

    OP, you may want to purchase your MediaSmart Server now. Apparently, HP is running another deal on www.hpshopping.com for $467.49 + Tax with special coupons for the just released new models.

    http://mswhs.com/2009/02/13/600-hp-mediasmart-server-ex485-for-46749/
     
  8. dmm219 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    #8
    So is there a way to get the HP MSS to directly serve the ATV or do you need it connected to another computer running itunes in order for it to stream?
     
  9. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #9
    Just log on to the MediaSmart via remote desktop and install the Windows version of iTunes.
     
  10. Johnny Crash macrumors newbie

    Johnny Crash

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #10
  11. robotartfashion macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #11
    Just a update, that coupon code is no longer working :(

    However, you can use coupon code SV2132 through 04/09 and that will get you an additional $30.00 off

    so for me with free 2 day shipping the price would be $552.49, which is the regular price - $50.00 (from HP) - $30.00 (coupon code) + sales tax of $32.50

    What's the main differences between the 485 and 475 models? Is it just the lack of Wireless N in the old one? just wondering
     
  12. MapleLeaf Mag thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #12
    Thanks for all the feedback. Looks like I'm golden to go out and spend especially with those coupon codes. Great price:)
     
  13. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #13
  14. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #14
    The basic differences are shown here.

    You can get a more detailed review of the new models, highlighting the new features here.

    None of them have got any form of wireless networking. :confused:
     
  15. mohanman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #15
    is it a pretty quiet device? I have a Infrant NAS, and it can get a little bit annoying.. I like complete silence?

    Thanks
    Mo
     
  16. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #16
    The unit itself is not loud. However, when you start adding additional drives it becomes louder. In my experience, it's not as loud as the first generation Drobo.

    Some people have resorted to installing only Western Digital "Green" drives in it to make it as quiet as possible.
     
  17. dmm219 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    #17
    I really wish Apple would just open up the stupid Time Capsule to hold and stream media, as well as stream to the ATV. It just seems obvious to me. It could most likely be done with only a software update.

    I just can't justify a $500-$600 MSS in addition to the TC. If I didn't have the TC, it might be a different story...
     
  18. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #18
    But you're stuck with it now...

    Note that the HP server is not merely a storage device but a lightweight server capable of running software, such as iTunes. The Time Capsule is not, and it will take more than a firmware upgrade to give it a brain.
     
  19. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #19
    By far the worst Apple product I've ever owned. Mine can't even handle recording from a networked HD Homerun device and streaming to another computer without slowing the entire wired and wireless network to a halt.

    That's something my $60 Linksys 10/100 base router can do. You would think a $300 gigabit router could handle that.

    Ever heard of QOS, Apple? :rolleyes:
     
  20. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #20
    Let's not even mention that the TC is still the same price a year later when retail prices for 1TB and 500GB are less than half of what they were a year ago. I still thought that the 1TB TC was a ripoff when BestBuy was selling them for $429 the first week they had them in stock. Apple could sell alot more of them for $300 and still maintain a huge profit thru economies of scale.

    Alas its Apple, who doesn't like to update products bc its too confusing for consumers :confused: ?

    Still waiting for an updated Mini but when I can get a quad-core Dell minitower and a netbook for the same price as the high end Mini, hackintosh is looking very attractive lately. Oh and the Mac Pro comes with 2GB of ram and a 320GB hard drive?? What a joke when the sub $500 Dell includes 4GB ram and 500GB hard drive. All these iPhone and iPod sales has made change for the worse.

    It's disappointing as a stockholder, and as a longtime 20+ year Apple user.
     
  21. alFR macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #21
    I'm sure it is, given how poor their quarterly results have been recently.

    </sarcasm>
     
  22. spacecadet610 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    #22
    it's not silent. i thought it was kind of loud and annoying, but i am used to complete silence.

     
  23. mohanman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #23
    I like my TC, saved my butt a few times. My Mac Pro died a while back, and I got a new iMac thanks to Best Buy warranty.. installation was easy, it simply restored my OS from the TC.

    I does a good job for whats its supposed to do.. back ups...

    Mo
     
  24. Superman07 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #24
  25. dmm219 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    #25
    it'd be nice if they updated it so it could be controlled via a mac (not just windows). Seems obvious to me if your are gonna go to the trouble of having it work with Time Machine and Iphones and such.

    I'd pretty much have to put windows on my mac, just to control the HP...(I know, you can control it with a Mac...but its a total PITA to do so..)
     

Share This Page