HP Monitor not Mac Compatible?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ScubaTim19, Dec 21, 2009.

  1. ScubaTim19 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #1
    I recently purchased an HP 2159M Monitor to go along with my Macbook Pro. I also purchased a mini displayport to HDMI adaptor from monoprice, and an HDMI cable to run from the adaptor to the monitor.

    When I turned the monitor on and connected it to the MBP, the MBP's screen flashed baby blue for a second, but the HP monitor stayed blank. Going into system preferences/displays, it seems my Macbook Pro doesn't recognize the monitor, and hitting detect displays does nothing.

    Thinking maybe a driver might fix the problem, I went to HP's site, and there are no OS X drivers for this monitor. Going into their support chat, all I got out of them was, we don't have drivers; you should talk to the store you bought the monitor from.

    I've never in my life heard of a monitor not working on Mac, and before buying I did do research - several people on this forum, apple's discussion forum, and others who use macs all report loving this monitor and recommending it.

    Oh, and my screen still randomly flashes baby blue for a second and fades out when connected.

    What gives?
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
  3. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Make sure the monitor is on HDMI. Do this by pressing the Source button near the on/off button.
     
  4. ScubaTim19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #4
    I have the source set to HDMI - no avail. My macbook pro just isn't picking it up.
     
  5. dvdhsu macrumors 6502a

    dvdhsu

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
  6. ScubaTim19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #6
    No, it's new. But I can link you to literally 6-8 customer reviews on different websites of people saying they use it for their mac and love it.

    I seriously don't get it.
     
  7. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #7
    Why are you using HDMI for a computer? Just because HDMI and DVI use the same signal does not mean the display will necessarily treat them the same way. It may be expecting an HDTV signal. Try it with DVI or Displayport (if it supports that)
     
  8. ScubaTim19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #8
    I chose HDMI because I read somewhere (actually several somewhere's) that it gives the exact same signal as DVI, however I wouldn't have to complicate things with DVI-I or DVI-D, since I'd need an adaptor. Looking back, I wish I'd just stuck with DVI, but I really don't see how that'd make a difference if it's the same signal? The monitor doesn't have a TV tuner built in, so how would it recognize the difference between a tv and my macbook?

    But, I think buying a DVI adaptor and cable is going to be my next step I guess, though I'd hate to shell out another $40 in cables and adaptors for nothing.
     
  9. CubeHacker macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #9
    Try it on another computer and see if the monitor works... at all. It might be defective.
     
  10. ScubaTim19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #10
    I would, but I don't have an HDMI or mini displayport in any of my other computers. The monitor is refurbished, but all the menus for brightness/source work fine.

    The HP technical support guy (Worst person to listen to, I know) told me to try connecting it through DVI, so I took advantage of Apple's free holiday delivery thing they have going on and a converter should be here either tomorrow or christmas eve.

    If that doesn't work, well, looks like I've got a whole bunch of stuff to return. =P But even HP says it should work with a Mac.
     
  11. cderalow macrumors 6502

    cderalow

    #11
    what may or may not be the case using HDMI and a HP product is it may expect a HDCP compliant HDMI source, which a mac is not.

    it should not expect that over a DVI connection.

    HDMI was originally intended for high def video/sound connections, and as such, TVs, DVD players, blu-ray etc.

    DVI was originally intended for enabling larger digital displays over the traditional analog display cable.
     
  12. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #12
    This is possible, but I'm pretty sure that an HDCP monitor is supposed to still display video from a non-HDCP source--the limit is supposed to be on the other end, in that the computer isn't supposed to display the HDCP content if it can't verify that the whole display chain is compliant.

    It certainly can with other monitors, at least--my dad is using a Hanns-G HG-281DPB, which ONLY has an HDMI input (no DVI), and is HDCP-compliant, and his mini has no trouble driving it. (At 1920X1200, no less--I didn't know that HDMI was capable of doing over 1080p until I hooked it up.)

    Otherwise no suggestions, although testing it with a DVI cable is a good idea, as is trying it with some other video source to make sure the monitor itself is working.
     
  13. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #13
    A parameter ram reset may do the trick. Reboot the computer. When rebooting hold cmd + opt + P + R until you hear the boot chime a second time. This worked for me on a MBP not recognizing a DVI monitor.
     
  14. ScubaTim19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #14
    So apparently Super Walmart, Super Target, and Radio shack all don't carry any DVI cables at all. As I said in my previous post, sure that SOMEONE would carry a DVI cable, I ordered Apple's Mini-Displayport - DVI adaptor.

    At this rate, I'm going to have a cart load of stuff to return, and restocking/shipping fees to almost match the price of the damn monitor.

    I'm really starting to hate my life.
     
  15. SchneiderMan macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #15
    Hmm i'm using the same exact display with a Mbp via mini display port to Dvi-D.

    Make sure you Mbp's lid is always closed before connecting and powering on the Hp display, make sure on the control panel of the display that you choose the right input format and enable it then exit.

    Does it go to standby after a while? - orange light.

    It's an outstanding display and i have no problems with it, you do not need any drivers.
     
  16. ScubaTim19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #16
    Yes, after a while the display would go on standby. All menus/etc also function correctly. I'm not actually sure I tried plugging it in with the lid closed, because I was trying to get the MBP to recognize it, but I've already returned the HDMI cord so I can't try it with that now.

    I'll be buying a DVI-D cord as soon as I can find a place that sells one.

    Edit: Apple Store also does not have a DVI cable. Seriously?
     
  17. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #17

    http://www.monoprice.com
     
  18. ScubaTim19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #18
    Yeah that's where I got the HDMI-Mini Displayport adapter - but it was pretty cheaply built. A cable is a cable, but I ended up ordering one off Newegg for $5.

    I was really hoping to fine one in walmart or something though. The shipping was more than the price of the product!

    Update: So I payed double on Newegg for "UPS Guaranteed 3 Day Service" guess what the estimated arrival date is? 1/4/10. Not counting Christmas, that's 11 days since my order was placed.

    The fun never ends, apparently. =P
     
  19. psnyder709 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    #19
    HP2159M compatibility

    I too have a new HP monitor, 2159M. Nice size and all, but I cannot get it to display over the entire 21 inches. Leaves about 3 in. black space on each side on 1280 x 768. I do have all necessary cables, VGA and DVI. ;-))

    Spent an hour with some very nice guy in India trying to fix it, but for nought!

    Anyone have any ideas?

    Pat
     
  20. ScubaTim19 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #20
    I'll allow the thread hijacking, since I actually do know whats wrong and the thread needed a bump anyway =P

    That's the wrong resolution. It's a high definition monitor, meaning the res should be 1920x1080
     
  21. limlo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    #21
    resurrecting the thread ...
    i just bought an HP 2310i , i'm having a hard time calibrating it , if i follow the osx pref panel instructions to calibrate, monitor is too bright .. whites are hurting my eyes .

    any tip ?
     
  22. forcefieldkid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #22
    Try using SuperCal instead of the built in one, worked much better for me.
     
  23. MobiusStrip macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    #23
    Exactly the same problem as the original poster

    I have an HP 2159m hooked up to an Intel Core Duo MacBook Pro, but it is hooked up with DVI.

    Same symptoms: Whenever the HP monitor is plugged in, the screen periodically flashes blue. The monitor goes to sleep. The Displays preference panel doesn't show the second monitor.

    The monitor works fine with a new Mac Pro.

    WTF?
     
  24. Farseen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #24
    Have same issue, black screen on HP 2159m and it never turns on.

    My official guess, after research on the net, is that this monitor is incompatible with the Macbook Pro Retina series. I use this same cable / dvi to miniusb setup on a different monitor at work and have no issues. :mad:
     

Share This Page