HP Photosmart C3180 scanner not working.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by summero, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. summero macrumors regular

    summero

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    Hey everyone,

    I've been trying to scan some pictures and all I've been getting is

    Error

    Sorry, scanner could not be initialized.
    (Scanner not found.)

    Pretty annoying. I need help please!
     
  2. eyebeaz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    #2
    Have you made sur the scanner drives are installed?
     
  3. summero thread starter macrumors regular

    summero

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    How do I know if the scanner drives are installed?
     
  4. Ugg macrumors 68000

    Ugg

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Penryn
    #4
    The scanner should have come with a disc. If you haven't already, pop it into your computer and follow the instructions. If you've already done that, then go to HP's website and look for the appropriate software. It may have been updated.
     
  5. kitki83 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    I have a similar problem with HP Scanjet 5590. It works fine with Apple G5 running Mac Os X 3.9 but I just got a Mac Pro 10.4 and I get the similar problem as the OP. I did the drivers updates but no luck


    Thank you
     
  6. summero thread starter macrumors regular

    summero

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    Help me and kitki83 out! I've done the updates not too long ago.. helpppp!
     
  7. johnthegreen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #7
    Same problem here with Scanjet 5590

    I am having the same problem with my Scanjet 5590, and I cannot figure it out. I am perplexed and would graciously accept help in figuring it out. Thank you. :confused:
     
  8. Ugg macrumors 68000

    Ugg

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Penryn
    #8
    I've got a Canon but HP seems to have a fairly good support page at: http://search.hp.com/query.html?lang=en&submit.x=0&submit.y=0&qt=scanjet+5590&la=en&cc=us

    It might be something as simple as repairing permissions. It might also mean that you need to download a new driver from HP. The newest driver on their web site was created in April of 2007 so you probably do have the newest one.

    Could you give a little more detail about your computer and the problems you're having?
     
  9. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9
    My scanner didn't work as a part of my all in one after I upgraded to Leopard. Of course I had to wait until last month when they had a compatible driver. Go check the page for a working driver or software.
     
  10. johnthegreen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #10
    Scanjet 5590 on Mac Pro running leopard

    Hi, thanks for the reply. I have a Mac Pro which is about 6 months old. It is running Leopard. I have not had any trouble installing any other devices. If I go into system profiler, the Scanjet 5590 is listed in the USB section. The issue is anytime I try to do anything with the scanner, I receive the message
    "Sorry, scanner could not be initialized. Scanner not found." I scoured the HP site as well as google looking for a solution, but could not come up with it. I am not well versed with the Mac, this is my first one. I am using a brand new usb cable and plugged in direct to the back of the computer. I ran a self test and the unit itself, only about a year old, seems fine. I hope this information is helpful, thank you.
     
  11. johnthegreen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #11
    Problem fixed with software download

    I downloaded the software from HP site and now the scanner is working like a champ. Thank you all very much. John
     
  12. Mookout macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    #12
    I was looking at the apps on the HP site
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareList?os=219&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=1146331#
    the software is 150 or 200mb

    I'm on a really slow connection here, and I don't want HP's software.

    I found this app, Vuescan. Only 7mb

    http://www.hamrick.com/vsm.html

    Works great



    Edit: I take that back. It does work great, but once it's scanned they slap dollar sign watermarks all over it, and asks you to purchase it for 80 bucks american.
    hmmmm


    So what's some good freeware out there for scanning that isnt the 200mb HP thing?
    cheers
     
  13. mightyneek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #13
    10.5

    Also if you are having issues it could be a version conflict. After I upgraded to leopard I had to WAIT and download a 10.5 version of the software.
     
  14. lylestola macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    #14
    HP C3180 Scanner not working

    Hello,

    I hope someone can help. I just purchased a MAC computer it is a MAC OS X Version 10.5.2 the printer is a Hp Photosmart C3180 when I try to use the scan button the power switch blinks but the scanner will not scan. When I try to use the scanner over the computer I get the error: Scanner can not be initilized. (Scanner not found)

    I asked the salesperson who informed me that I would have to download the software from HP, which I did. The following most recent updates have been downloaded.
    HP Installer PSC3100 v9.7-1-dmg
    v9.7 Inkjet OSX10.5 update.dmg

    Is there something else that I need to do so that the scanner will work? Thank you in advance for your help and information.

    Lyle
     
  15. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #15
    Maybe try installing the HP Installer PSC3100 last and then recreating the printer in the print control panel.
     
  16. tileg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #16
    I had a similar problem with the OfficeJet 6310. HP is updating installation files for Leopard. Download the new package and there should be utilities among the HP files that work. For example use the Device Manager.
     
  17. cuzman1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    #17
    New Macbook Pro

    I just got a new Macbook Pro (10.5.5 and 2.4 GHz), and I'm getting the same error. "Sorry scanner could not be initialized (Scanner not found)" Using HP Photosmart C4480. The all-in-one still prints and copies, but no luck scanning. I wonder if HP must update their product to work with the new Macbooks?
     
  18. jumpoverit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    #18
    found this solution on the hp site and it worked right away - such an easy fix!

    "go via System Preferences, click Print & Fax and you should see at the top a Print and Scan option. Click on this and it will open the dialogue for scanning."

    no downloads necessary. awesome.
     
  19. Jambar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #19
    Scanner recognition issues

    I have struggled with this problem, trying all the suggestions picked up from forums etc and finally reached the solution for me. I have an imac 10.6 OS and HPdeskjet f4580 all in one. I updated the mac software and installed it then reinstalled the latest HP software from the HP website and still had the problem. Another 24 hours and I tried the mac software update again. Surprisingly there was another update found and it was for HP!!! So if you still have the problem trying another mac update even if you have already done it.

    Thanks for all the other posts and I hope this helps.
     

Share This Page