HP Scanning and Leopard A NO GO

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jstennis1591, Oct 28, 2007.

  1. jstennis1591 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #1
    Okay, for everyone who assumed that HP and Apple were all tight and stuff, it looks like this might not be the case.....


    I was running Tiger all set up with an HP C4280 all in one printer (the free one that came with my dad's macbook pro).....and everything was working


    I reinstalled the whole computer when I got leopard, erase and install, not an upgrade.

    I'm able to add the printer in the Print and Fax pref pane, but it will not scan......I've tried everything
    Downloaded the software from HP's site, but the installer just hangs.....So I tried to do it manually by showing package contents, and running the installers individaully.....they went, and i see all the stuff, but whenever i go to run anythign with scanning, it says that there's no scanner attached to my computer.....But i can still print.

    It's soooo annoying and I can't even get Photosmart Studio to run, it just crashes....


    Anyone in the same situation or know of a way to get around this?

    Any help whatsoever is appreciated
    Thanks
     
  2. zflauaus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    #2
    Yeah, I got the same problem here as well. Just bought a Mac mini and the printer yesterday and haven't gotten the scanner to work.

    I've been searching for free scanner software but no avail. I don't want to have to spend money on something that should already work. I guess we'll just have to wait on HP.:rolleyes:
     
  3. formerpcfanboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #3
    Same problem!!!! I got the imac today did the upgrade and plugged in the free Printer/Scanner and BAM .... Nothing ... Guess you pay the price to be on the cutting edge!!!
     
  4. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #4
    That comes as no surprise to me, the HP drivers are crap. Just open up activity monitor on a machine with an attached HP printer or scanner attached and you'll see a process that starts with the letters hp...... which is running as a root process and taking up an unreasonable amount of cpu %
     
  5. hermit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Location:
    usa
    #5
    also no go (scan) for hp 2710

    anyone got HP photosmart 2710 to scanner in leopard?
     
  6. MacIllini macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    West Coast
    #6
    Canon scanners too

    I'm having the same problem with my Canon scanner too :confused:
     
  7. pilotError macrumors 68020

    pilotError

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island
    #7
    I have a C7280?? forget the exact model, but I'm having no issues scanning. I had a little trouble during setup, but once I solved that, its been good to me.

    Have you searched on the Apple Support forums?
     
  8. Tenwamarukun macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
  9. pjrobertson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #9
    If you're using the F4180 (that Apple sells on their site) you'll need to download this

    It's a huge download, but it did the trick.

    Hopefully Apple will update the drivers for scanner - printers in 10.5.2
     
  10. G99 macrumors 6502

    G99

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #10
    Hp says they are working on an update, which should have already been released lol
     
  11. ChronoYu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    #11
    I've also had this same problem, except I've just changed from Windows to Mac recently. I bought a HP Laserjet M1005 MFP (all in one) and it wouldn't scan. My printer came with a disc for Readiris Pro, that was SUPPOSED to work on Mac, but wouldn't. So I looked it up (on Torrentz.com) and found on for Mac that the comments say works. If you're a anti-piracy person, then please forget this post and please don't report me! :D It's not so piracy, since I actually have the disc with serial and stuff, except it doesn't work, so I guess it should be okay ;)

    I haven't installed it yet, but when I do, I'll be sure to let you know whether it works wonders or not. :D

    link for torrent: http://torrentz.com/336e4806dd42f82a3259008c31894104c035746e
     
  12. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #12
    I didn't want to create a new thread, so I thought I'd bump this one.

    Have those of you with the C4280 noticed any improvements/progress? I'm going to be hooking mine up in a few days and I wasn't sure if the "Leopard headaches" were still around.

    Because I have some moderate scanning to do (~50 pages) next week, I was wondering if the scanner issues had been resolved in particular.

    Thanks guys. :)
     
  13. Paix247 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #13
    I just was on HP's site. Still no updated driver. :mad:
    I may have to go buy a new scanner.
     
  14. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #14
    You might want to consider Vuescan instead of buying a new scanner. The list of supported scanners is on this page. I'm using it with my Canon LiDE35 on 10.5.1 with no issues.
     
  15. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
  16. ozone macrumors 6502

    ozone

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #16
    HP Scanjet 8250 problem

    Well, I thought it was just me. My document feeder HP ScanJet 8250 doesn't work with my Leopard upgrade at work. And scanning to Adobe PDF doesn't work either since I understand Acrobat 8.0 has not been upgraded to work with Leopard.

    Any suggestions?

    What a pain! I should have held off for a little while longer on upgrading to Leopard given this (although I do find the interface a little better, and quickview is useful).
     
  17. oli2140 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #17
    hp Scanning

    if you look on Apple's website, they have posted a link for leopard's driver. I am downloading it now and if I remember I will try to report back on how I get on. I still think hp though are unorganised for not sorting this out sooner...
     
  18. oli2140 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #18
    Success

    Just to confirm the link Apples provided does install a compatible piece of software to scan using the C4280. The link is as follows:
    ttp://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareList?os=219&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=3192753
     
  19. tinterweb troll macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    #19
    vuescan

    hi, i tried vuescan and it worked fine with my HP PSC 1315 fine..i had it before and it didn't work but today it is!! was just in the middle of downloading the drivers from the HP website but i don't think i need them now! thanks blodwyn :)
     
  20. dbwie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM, USA
    #20
    Have you all tried using the Image Capture app that is already installed in your apps folder? It can acquire from Twain sources. I'm not sure if a scanner-specific driver is required or not. I have used this with a Canoscan LIDE scanner.
     
  21. animatedude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #21
    i can't scan withmy all in one 6500 wireless HP...any solutions?
     
  22. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #22
    Not without information, we don't. All you said is that you have a 6500 wireless HP. You don't even say that you have a computer or which kind.
     
  23. animatedude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #23
    this is a Mac forum what the hell do you think i have biatch?! i have iMac 21.5'' the new one..
     
  24. Lordedmond macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    Tilchestune UK
    #24
    we do not have crystal balls :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page