HP w2207 Randomly Going BLACK, Then Back To NORMAL?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by shelob8888, Sep 24, 2009.

  1. shelob8888 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #1
    So, i have this HP w2207 monitor that is amazing, but lately it has been randomly going black, then coming right back on as if nothing is wrong... its not trying to sleep or losing power because the indicator at the top is normal.

    There is no regular interval, sometimes it will do it 2 or 3 times in a row, some days it won't do it at all.

    Please help, this is super annoying!!!!

    (this is on my G5, btw) specs are below... THANKS!!!!
     
  2. SchneiderMan macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #2
    Makes sure you display connection are connected well into the back of the display and the g5, check to see if the sleep timer is turned off on the display. other then that im not sure whats wrong.
     
  3. shelob8888 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #3
    I know this was a long time ago... But, it was a cord issue... I bought a nice thick gauge DVI cord and haven't looked back since. :) so, there ya have it.
     
  4. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #4
    I have the same problem with my 24" ACD. It never used to happen when it was connected to a MBP or MBA, but now it's connected to my 2011 Mini and it does this randomly. It goes dark and then the picture reappears again. The display's fans actually come on when it switches on again so I think it's losing the input signal. I've resigned to having to live with it.
     
  5. shelob8888 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #5
    Have you checked to see if it happens now with your MPB or MBA? Because mine would not immediately, and I couldn't reproduce it on command initially. It did, however, get to the point where I could fiddle with the cable and create the "screen flash." I would recommend checking the cord, because the cheap, thin gauge cords you can buy at the local walmart are exactly that, and can easily crimp inside the thin outer coating. It would be worth the try, and if you still have the problem with a better cable, then take it back, no harm-no fowl. It saved my monitor. :D
     
  6. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #6
    Unfortunately this is the ACD so I cannot just replace the cable. That is the curse of elegant design.
     
  7. shelob8888 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #7
    OH! i see... *Face Palm* I just assumed they functioned like an iMac and had video out on the back. I have never used one. (I feel like a newb) HAHAHA! Let us know if you figure out anything though.
     

Share This Page