HTML Forms

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by 0penCr8, Jul 25, 2012.

1. 0penCr8 macrumors newbie

I am not very good with HTML and have basically no knowledge of PHP, JavaScript, MySQL, etc... I am trying to create a form for my website. I used to use a great program called CoffeeCup Web Form Builder. Unfortunately, I found out that is t was discontinued and replaced by Web Form Builder 2.0. Now, Web Form Builder 2.0 is great, but it costs $69. I don't really want to spend money on this when I know I can build one for cheaper. I have read through the W3schools.com 'walkthrough' on HTML forms, but they don't look very good and they don't cover everything.

If someone could send me a link to a thorough tutorial or some well-built freeware, it would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks.

2. firedept macrumors 603

firedept

Just search 'web form builder' and you will get plenty of results.

3. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

Darth.Titan

4. 618537 Guest

5. mikelegacy, Jul 26, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2012

mikelegacy macrumors 65816

mikelegacy

It's incredibly easy to make a php web form if all you are doing is creating a contact form. Just create the form in HTML:
    Code:
    <form action="sendmail.php" method="post">
    Name: <input type="text" name="name" /><br />
    Email: <input type="text" name="email" /><br />
    Comments: <textarea rows="2" Cols="20" name="comments"></textarea>
     <input type="submit" value="Submit" />
    </form>

Then create a new page called "sendmail.php" and put this in it:
    PHP:
    <?
    $email $_POST['email'] ;
    $message $_POST['name'] ;
    $message = .$_POST['comments'] ;
    mail"yourname@example.com""Email Subject"$message"From: $email);
    print 
    "Congratulations your email has been sent";
    ?>
    That is CRAZY basic. But it's really not too hard to grasp once you get the hang of it.