HTML Snippet Help

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by backsidetailsli, Aug 28, 2008.

  1. backsidetailsli macrumors 65816

    backsidetailsli

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto!
    #1
    hey so i put a snippet of my bands myspace player on my iweb site. the only problem is the code wont show up through firefox or internet explorer. what am i doing wrong?

    www.thegoodratsradio.com

    heres the code:


    HTML:
    <OBJECT id="mp3player" codeBase="http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab##version=8,0,0,0"
    		height="345" width="450" border="0" classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000"
    		VIEWASTEXT>
    		<PARAM NAME="_cx" VALUE="11906">
    		<PARAM NAME="_cy" VALUE="9128">
            <param name="FlashVars" value="culture=en-CA" />	
    		<PARAM NAME="Movie" VALUE="http://lads.myspace.com/music/musicplayer.swf?n=aHR0cDovL211c2ljLm15c3BhY2UuY29t&t=ctRqaq0ecLGOP/fIiI18ESlwPx8T9WjzCpA1c5xvol0UNDeyHdFge922KnXeqmF5Bay2gCT1Cqo9ZcpmMDOs8w==&u=MTcwNDkyMjk4&a=0&d=MTcwNDkyMjk4XjEyMTk5MzU1MTc=&p=aHR0cDovL2lwcm9maWxlLm15c3BhY2UuY29tL2NvbW1hbmQuYXNweD9pZmlkPU1HSUdDU3NHQVFRQmdqZFlBNkJWTUZNR0Npc0dBUVFCZ2pkWUF3R2dSVEJEQWdNQ0FBRUNBbVlEQWdJQXdBUUliQ3VlcjJnaGNhRUVFTWdqL3pZOHpoUlhWbVAva0hQNzQxY0VHUEVnT0NBYklRallSd3puT2FMZnI1ZlVUeDY3WFR2NDV3PT0=">
    		<PARAM NAME="Src" VALUE="http://lads.myspace.com/music/musicplayer.swf?n=aHR0cDovL211c2ljLm15c3BhY2UuY29t&t=y5Y4+LyT+ngo1FdzTksIL0oytNIbdwv7HCQ0YE9PKvLcik8xlU2KJrYe8qb77DchCH8vCrAxrVocJ4h9K6V1tg==&u=MTcwNDkyMjk4&a=0&d=MTcwNDkyMjk4XjEyMTk5MzU1MTc=&p=aHR0cDovL2lwcm9maWxlLm15c3BhY2UuY29tL2NvbW1hbmQuYXNweD9pZmlkPU1HSUdDU3NHQVFRQmdqZFlBNkJWTUZNR0Npc0dBUVFCZ2pkWUF3R2dSVEJEQWdNQ0FBRUNBbVlEQWdJQXdBUUk4bUJiZ3I1N0I3WUVFTmt3VXR5OUdoSDhrRFNrOUZrM3JsUUVHR2E0dzhYelY2SENyelQ1b0VLR05nYk1meHhWWDVXRFRRPT0=">
    		<PARAM NAME="WMode" VALUE="opaque">
    		<PARAM NAME="Play" VALUE="-1">
    		<PARAM NAME="Loop" VALUE="-1">
    		<PARAM NAME="Quality" VALUE="High">
    		<PARAM NAME="SAlign" VALUE="">
    		<PARAM NAME="Menu" VALUE="-1">
    		<PARAM NAME="Base" VALUE="">
    		<PARAM NAME="AllowScriptAccess" VALUE="always">
    		<PARAM NAME="Scale" VALUE="ShowAll">
    		<PARAM NAME="DeviceFont" VALUE="0">
    		<PARAM NAME="EmbedMovie" VALUE="0">
    		<PARAM NAME="BGColor" VALUE="#FFF">
    		<PARAM NAME="SWRemote" VALUE="">
    		<PARAM NAME="MovieData" VALUE="">
    		<PARAM NAME="SeamlessTabbing" VALUE="1">
    		<embed src="http://lads.myspace.com/music/musicplayer.swf?n=aHR0cDovL211c2ljLm15c3BhY2UuY29t&t=FNrtpLwIk43Ou7nU5NvGyebZdZm7jGStpp/j139CWN+7hsCNfSeXQMBbvzICOa335xxKRsU/BvlW4vWizmxZxg==&u=MTcwNDkyMjk4&a=0&d=MTcwNDkyMjk4XjEyMTk5MzU1MTc=&p=aHR0cDovL2lwcm9maWxlLm15c3BhY2UuY29tL2NvbW1hbmQuYXNweD9pZmlkPU1HSUdDU3NHQVFRQmdqZFlBNkJWTUZNR0Npc0dBUVFCZ2pkWUF3R2dSVEJEQWdNQ0FBRUNBbVlEQWdJQXdBUUlsWlAyeU00dGtCSUVFTC9ZbXAxWWZHbHFMMWFIRGp4K1dVY0VHQTFGSDE5MHhhSXhjRk1qN0xPazMyK25aeXBUUEk4a3JnPT0=" quality=high bgcolor=#FFFFFF wmode="opaque"     
             width="450" height="345" name="mp3player" align="" AllowScriptAccess="always"
    type="application/x-shockwave-flash" FlashVars="culture=en-CA"              
    pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"> </embed>
    	</OBJECT>
    


    thanks
     
  2. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #2
    Next time always wrap the HTML tag around HTML code. Otherwise certain characters get interpreted as emoticons on the forum or won't display if you simply paste here.

    Seems you have a frames site which loads only one page:

    http://web.me.com/backsidetailslide/THE_GOOD_RATS_RADIO/THE_GOOD_RATS_RADIO.html

    I examined the source of that file and didn't find any object/embed tags there at all, then I clicked on all 4 icons and they link to third party sites like myface.com, facebook.com. etc. in your frameset.

    Bottom line is it appears you included some HTML code in your post here that is nowhere to be found on your actual site. I'm not referrnig to the Flash not displaying, I mean the HTML code is not there. So one of two possibilities:

    1) I missed it, if so please tell me where it is with a link or what to click on, etc. to navigate to the page with that Flash
    2) There is a conditional in your source, processed server side, that dynamically generates the source or includes different source files based on whatever conditions - you need to tell us this, if true, since any such conditionals affect the source I see.

    And I strongly doubt #2 through an iWeb site! But maybe some iWeb gurus know about this.

    -jim
     
  3. backsidetailsli thread starter macrumors 65816

    backsidetailsli

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto!
    #3
    well i mean the code i posted is what i used for the site.. which i built with iweb hosted through .mac and then set www.thegoodratsradio.com to direct the the .mac address through godaddy.com. now im new to owning a domain and have no idea if that may be hiding all the source codes. i really dont know why they arent showing. hmm HELP!
     
  4. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #4
    Let me explain first how your domain "direct" is actually setup, as it relates to my help given to you so far:

    Simply put, when a user visits "http://www.thegoodratsradio.com/" it loads a small HTML file hosted on godaddy's web server. That HTML creates a frameset, and one frame loads the .Mac hosted page via this URL: "http://web.me.com/backsidetailslide/THE_GOOD_RATS_RADIO/THE_GOOD_RATS_RADIO.html". Because the external URL is loaded in a frame, the browser address bar will always show "http://www.thegoodratsradio.com/" even though the content comes from the .Mac site.

    Now that you know how it really works, let's go back to trying to help you determine why the Flash doesn't display properly:

    As stated earlier, it's not in the the HTML file listed above, I view source and look for the object or embed tag, nothing.

    I am thinking you put it on another page on your .Mac site which lives in either of these two directories:

    /backsidetailslide
    /backsidetailslide/THE_GOOD_RATS_RADIO/

    I actually tried browsing inside each and .Mac redirected me back to the original URL so I cannot see what other files might live on your site. This is something YOU need to check and tell us. If other files exist in either of those two directories on your .Mac site, right now users cannot get to them based on the source in THE_GOOD_RATS_RADIO.html. Like I said before there are only links for third party web pages.

    Maybe try re-uploading everything, see if some stuff didn't get published properly or what's up there now is an old version prior to you adding in the Flash, or something like that.

    -jim
     

Share This Page