HTML5 Portfolio Critique

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by ChicoWeb, Oct 6, 2010.

  1. ChicoWeb macrumors 65816

    ChicoWeb

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #1
    Hey all-

    I've been trying to sneak in time for us to design a new portfolio website for years now and we finally where able to fit it in. It's in HTML5, CSS3, and uses the TypeKit API for some nice typography. All and all, I'm pretty stoked on it and was looking for any feedback, positive or negative.

    http://www.chicowebdesign.com

    Thanks
     
  2. elppa macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
  3. ChicoWeb thread starter macrumors 65816

    ChicoWeb

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Good catch, thanks.
     
  4. designguy79 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    Lookin' good!

    It is a little confusing when you click on Portfolio and then Logo Design, the coverflow screen captures stay the same. It took me a few clicks to realize the link was working, but I didn't notice the images "below the fold" changing.
     
  5. ChicoWeb thread starter macrumors 65816

    ChicoWeb

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Good call. I have a list of after go-live things we're working on and featured logo and print is one of them. I guess that's one downfall of a designer on a 30 inch display :)
     
  6. miknos Suspended

    miknos

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #6
    Looks professional (nice).

    What I think could improve:

    - In HOME; the fading animation looks a little jerky (blurred). Maybe increasing the speed?
    - In OUR WORK; having to wait (spinning logo) for image to appear. Can you force to render everything at the same time to avoid this?
     
  7. ChicoWeb thread starter macrumors 65816

    ChicoWeb

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #7
    What kind of connection do you have?
     
  8. miknos, Nov 8, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2010

    miknos Suspended

    miknos

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #8
    3.2 mbps.

    The spinning logo (like your avatar) is shown when I move from one slide to another. I thought the normal would be to buffer those images before it slides (not showing the spinning-wait logo).

    Something similar to the Pixy method:
    http://wellstyled.com/css-nopreload-rollovers.html
     

Share This Page