Hue lights acting up since iOS 10

Discussion in 'HomeKit, HomePod, CarPlay, Home & Auto Technology' started by JBaker122586, Sep 14, 2016.

  1. JBaker122586 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #1
    Is anybody else experiencing this? The last couple days I'll try to adjust my scenes with the Home widget in control center, and it will just say "failed." I'll then try to go into the Hue app to set my desired scene, and that won't get the lights to work. I've updated my hub software. So I don't know what the issue is.

    And then a half hour later, it will work flawlessly. Only to give me the same "failed" message a couple hours later. This is all while on my home wifi, and Halle isn't with my iPhone, iPad, and my wife's iPhone.
     
  2. alecc131 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    #2
    I have an issue with Hue Lights continually saying "Updating" -- but only for invited user to my HomeKit home. I am the primary admin -- Lights work perfectly for me.

    After extensive testing, I notice that my invited user's devices will not connect to Hue locally/directly. The only way my fiancé's devices will connect to Hue is via remote access. I'm unsure why Hue refuses to connect to her iCloud. Lutron, August, and Eve devices all work perfectly for her.
     
  3. JBaker122586 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #3
    Are you controlling it with the Home app/control center widget, or controlling it directly with the Hue app?

    [​IMG]

    This is what I'm getting.
     
  4. alecc131 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    #4
    Home app. "Updating" for extended time--before showing each light's state, brightness, color. Lutron lights and other accessories update instantaneously when opening the Home app or Control Center tab.

    My devices: all accessories update instantly.

    Fiancé's devices: all accessories update instantly EXCEPT Philips Hue ("Updating" for several seconds)
     
  5. JBaker122586 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #5
    I wonder if it has something to do with the Apple TV update allowing remote HomeKit control.

    And it looks like my iPad is also doing the "slow updating" thing you're talking about.
     
  6. alecc131 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    #6
    If there is no remote connection, fiancé's devices will not connect to Hue at all. Bizarre!

    They will only connect remotely, through Apple TV.

    I've tried resetting everything. Even a second Hue 2.0 bridge! Seems like it has to be something with Hue's firmware... right?

    I'm puzzled.
     
  7. alecc131 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    #7
    This is from her phone. My phone they update instantly--NO "Updating"

    [​IMG]
     
  8. tangfj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #8
    Getting the same issue as a lot of you guys... scenes constantly failing and then start working again. Is this a hue issue or ios? For some reason I do not have this issue at all with my idevices switch and homekit... they seem to just work every time from the scenes I have set up for them so it would seem that this is a hue issue? Anybody gotten theirs to work well?
     
  9. MLVC macrumors 6502a

    MLVC

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    #9
    Same problem here. It works flawlessly from the Hue app but it's hit and miss from the Apple Home app. Same with automations set in the Home app. Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't.
     
  10. alecc131 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
  11. tangfj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #11
    How do you force a firmware update in the hue app?
     
  12. alecc131 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    #12
    Update the app to newest version. 2.4. It'll say firmware update available.
     
  13. tangfj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #13
    Seems I was already on the latest app version and I assume firmware... anyway, after reading around the net I noticed that some people had issues with interference on certain zigbee channels. I went in to the app and decided to try changing the zigbee channel to see if it'd help. To my surprise, it did! I can't say it's been 100% since changing the channel but my hit rate is certainly much better than before changing the channel where I'd say I was probably at about 30%.
     
  14. tangfj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #14
    Still having intermittent issues with homekit scenes failing... Strange thing for me is that the hue app works fine for controlling lights and if I try to control the lights directly in home app it works fine but the scenes seem to be a bit flaky with the home app. If anybody has found a way to make it work more consistently let us know!
     

Share This Page