Huge data sent value in activity monitor

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by FrodoReserve, Sep 17, 2016.

  1. FrodoReserve macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    #1
    I have a 2011 MBP with OS X 10.11.4 at the moment. I switched to a SSD and installed El Capitan and immediately installed Sophos. I know that's divisive, don't beat me up please. I've had months of trouble-free computing, but recently I've noticed some lag and difficulties with browsers and Netflix.

    Today I opened up the activity monitor and found the network value for data was 80 GB recieved and 17 GB sent. Maybe the download is correct, I watch a lot of Netflix and Youtube (still seems high). But the sent value seems extreme, I upload almost nothing, text emails is about all I can think of. It's been a while since I rebooted the computer, but not more than a few weeks.

    Aside from Sophos the only other apps I have added are Firefox and the plug-in for SlingBox. I tried to install uTorrent a while back but I encountered a problem and gave up, maybe it was Sophos stopping it, but I don't recall. Just now I tried to delete the .dmg for uTorrent and got a dialogue that it was working. Not sure what that means. I have downloaded Flash updates. That's all that I found in my download folder, and I don't clear it out often.

    17 GB sent? What do you guys think? Thanks
     
  2. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #2
    Don't look back, instead allow Little Snitch to measure things for a while.
     
  3. FrodoReserve thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    #3
    Any thoughts that don't involve new software?
     
  4. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #4
    Get rid of Sophos - it makes your system less secure.
     
  5. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #5
    If you want measurement (better than guesswork): Little Snitch is as close as you'll get to a gold standard. It's extraordinarily well developed and widely respected. I used it for years.
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    I would try disabling Sophos for a couple days and see if that fixes the incorrect upload reading (assuming it is incorrect). I think Sophos installs an Internet proxy and I'm wondering if that is making the upload amount off.
     

Share This Page