Huge mistake

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Allegator, Jan 5, 2012.

1. Allegator macrumors newbie

I'm a super noob..

I tried to unlock and jailbreak my iPhone 3GS using redsn0w to install cydia and the iPad baseband.

Unfortunately, I have one of the more recent serial numbers. The phone would boot up fine but then shut down a few minutes after being turned on. I then attempted to put it into DFU mode and restore it using iTunes which returned an error. Now the iPhone just has the "connect to iTunes" screen. My computer does not recognize the phone and the phone does not power down it just reboots when I attempt to shut it down.

Is there ANYTHING I can do now? Or is it now just a brick...

2. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

Dwalls90

You can try pleading to the genius bar. Otherwise you're screwed;

http://jaxov.com/2011/04/downgrade-ipad-baseband-06-15-00-to-05-13-04-baseband-possible-confirmed/

3. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

Crystal-RX

put it into DFU mode and restore it to official 4.1 firmware and see what happen.

4. ericrwalker macrumors 68030

ericrwalker

That's what I would do, but according to the article in the post before you. Sounds like he's screwed, and what he did was permanent damage to his iPhone.

5. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

Dwalls90

I'm not the smartest when it comes to basebands and unlocking, but I don't think basebands can ever be downgraded?

That said, consider it a blessing since 4.1 is still being signed. You can downgrade and use that baseband no problem, but I'm not sure if that baseband is INCOMPATIBLE with 5.X.X, or if it infact RUINS the hardware meaning you're screwed regardless.

6. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

Crystal-RX

he already screwed. So, it doesn't hurt to downgrade to official 4.1 firmware and see what baseband on it. He will then can reflash ipad baseband again if need be. It couldn't be worst since he fried his iphone with the ipad baseband already. :)

7. noiceT macrumors 6502a