Hulu's in mono on the 4th Gen Apple TV.

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by tonyr6, Dec 2, 2016.

  1. tonyr6 macrumors 65816

    tonyr6

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #1
    I went to watch Smallville the other day on Hulu and I noticed it was not in stereo just mono. I though it was just the episode so I watched the next episode on the FTV and it was in stereo as usual. I then watched a few episode today on the ATV and it was in mono. I said this is not right so I tried it on the FTV and Roku Premier and it is in stereo. It use to be in stereo until the latest update.

    Also another problem is after watching a episode at the end sometimes it repeat's the last few seconds a few times. Really buggy app.
     
  2. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #2
    Odd... Hulu definitely plays audio in stereo on my ATV4... o_O
     
  3. tonyr6 thread starter macrumors 65816

    tonyr6

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
  4. melapple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    #4
    I'm having the same issue as the OP. Can you please tell me audio settings on your Apple TV 4?
     
  5. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #5
    Whatever the defaults are, I haven't changed the audio settings. If I was experiencing issues though, I'd contact AppleCare tech support.
     
  6. melapple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    #6
    I contacted Hulu support. The guy had no clue. Plus it's not Apple 's fault. The short video with the network logo playing in front of programs plays in stereo. Only the programs are playing mono. This is not happening with any other app on my Apple TV
     
  7. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #7
    How frustrating for you -- hope you figure it out... Good luck! :)
     
  8. tonyr6 thread starter macrumors 65816

    tonyr6

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #8
    Yes I forgot to say any program that has the network logo playing in front is in stereo but the program is in mono. At first I said maybe it was the episode until I watched other things and they except for network logo playing was in stereo. I then stopped a episode during play and tried it on my FTV and Roku and it was in stereo.
     
  9. Roamer100 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    #9
    I googled this problem and came up with this thread. I registered on the site so I could reply.
    I am having exactly the same problem on my ATV4.
    Netflix, the TV network apps, Crackle, everything else is fine except Hulu with mono sound. Netflix plays in full multichannel audio.
    And I am on the subscription with the commercials, and they too are in Stereo. As mentioned the channel idents are also in Stereo. It is just when the actual show or movie content it goes completely mono.
    I have played with what sound settings there are. I have tried with 16bit on, Tried "Best Surround" and "DD" but to no avail.
    I upgraded from an ATV3 and Hulu was fine on there. Considering it is not even the whole Hulu app (just the most important thing!), and everything else on ATV4 is fine it must be an issue on Hulu's app.
    I was thinking of trying the audio out of the mini-jack, but I am pretty sure it will not help.
     
  10. philmcgowan macrumors newbie

    philmcgowan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    #10
    I'm having the exact same issue, anybody solve this?
     
  11. Roamer100 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    #11
    Not yet :-( I have actually put my ATV3 back in the lounge and moved my ATV4 into the bedroom while a solution is found for this.
     
  12. tonyr6 thread starter macrumors 65816

    tonyr6

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #12
    Funny how you googled this problem. I did and found nothing but now my post comes up. Happens everytime. Well I still have the same issue. Tried every setting and even removed, deactivated the app and reinstalled it still the main program plays only in mono. Even getting a new soundbar but the promo's, don't know as I have the ad free version of Hulu but the actual program is in mono. Also checking the app has not been updated since October 2016.
     
  13. mactracker75 macrumors member

    mactracker75

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Location:
    Astoria, Queens NY
    #13
    Count me in as someone experiencing the same issue. It's not just on Apple TV. It's also happening on my Roku and my TiVo when using Hulu. So the issue is on their end and I fear no one is going to do a thing about it unless many people complain.

    I have the station ID playing in full surround before the show and then audio turns to crap on my home theater.

    This wasn't always the case with Hulu. This is fairly recent.
     
  14. besler3035 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #14
    Here's to hoping that Hulu's new streaming service will mean a brand new app, with the bugs fixed. I canceled my Hulu subscription long ago after dealing with audio issues, watchlist issues, freezes, etc. on the ATV4.
     
  15. Soondae macrumors member

    Soondae

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Location:
    Hua Hin, Thailand
    #15
    The Hulu App on my ATV4 is driving me insane. I enjoy my subscription as it puts many of the programs I follow available in the 1 app, however it has degenerated to the point where I can't use it anymore. Constant freezing of video and audio going out of sync, I find myself having to quit Hulu and go to the OEM app of the provider in order to finish the episode. I hope Hulu has people watching for threads as this and will correct their very buggy ATV4 app. Unfortunately I don't have my ATV3 or 2 with me now or I would switch back to one of them.
     
  16. JeffPerrin macrumors regular

    JeffPerrin

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    #16
    Sounds like an issue with a specific version of the Hulu tvOS app. Apple doesn't host the content (or maintain the app), so resolving the issue will be up to Hulu.

    //
     
  17. mactracker75 macrumors member

    mactracker75

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Location:
    Astoria, Queens NY
    #17
    The audio issue and poor performance are happening across the board on all of my streaming devices. Again it's not just Apple TV 4.

    I can not use Hulu at all with my home theater setup. Audio only comes through on the center channel speaker. The left, right and rear speakers get nothing.

    So Hulu really dropped the ball here. Perhaps they temporarily shifted all their resources away from the standard app to focus on the new live TV service? I don't know. But overall quality has gone downhill.
     
  18. Soondae macrumors member

    Soondae

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Location:
    Hua Hin, Thailand
    #18
    Thanks, it's good to know the issues with the Hulu app are across all the platforms. now if we can only get them to fix these issues.
     
  19. mactracker75 macrumors member

    mactracker75

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Location:
    Astoria, Queens NY
    #19
    I fear they are just going to drag their feet on this and say there is no issue. The audio is meant to be this way. Or something lame like that.

    I replicated the issues on my Roku and TiVo. Just a sad state of affairs with them.
     
  20. MadeTheSwitch macrumors 6502a

    MadeTheSwitch

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    #20
    I stream through a Chromecast using both an iPad and Android phone and do not have a left/right speaker problem at all. In fact, I have never had that problem and I use it a lot. Not sure about the rear speakers. I haven't really paid attention as I don't like TV in surround audio. I am just weird...only like movies that way. :D

    What I do have a problem with is the picture freezing, especially when returning from a commercial break. Then I have to get out of the video, restart, and pick up where I left off. So annoying. But nothing new. Hulu has always done this for me (even before the app while using on computer) and I really wish it would get fixed.
     
  21. mactracker75, Feb 13, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2017

    mactracker75 macrumors member

    mactracker75

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Location:
    Astoria, Queens NY
    #21
    I haven't tried streaming it from my iPad or iPhone to my Apple TV. I will play with that and see what results that brings. But that's less than ideal when a proper Hulu app is made for all of the major streaming devices.

    I am able to force left and right speakers on my Xbox One but it's still in mono. Not stereo. That doesn't sound much better to me.

    If I attempt to convert the audio to surround using Dolby Pro Logic II or DTS Neo 6 Cinema, then its back to the center channel only. It's so odd. It's something that just started.

    UPDATE: while I don't have a Chromecast I decided to use airplay to stream Hulu to both of my Apple TV devices. One is a 4th generation the other is a 3rd generation.

    On the 3rd generation I get true surround sound. This is using a secondary home theater I have in my home on a 2012 Onkyo receiver.

    On my 4th gen Apple TV, Hulu will not stream using airplay. Only audio comes through and it's in mono. Center channel only. This is on a 2016 Yamaha receiver which is my main hub for viewing and gaming.

    So perhaps the only workaround for now is a Chromecast. But I'm filled to the brim with streaming devices. Don't know if I want another one just to get Hulu audio to work properly.
     
  22. Soondae macrumors member

    Soondae

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Location:
    Hua Hin, Thailand
    #22
    What I do have a problem with is the picture freezing, especially when returning from a commercial break. Then I have to get out of the video, restart, and pick up where I left off. So annoying. But nothing new. Hulu has always done this for me (even before the app while using on computer) and I really wish it would get fixed.[/QUOTE]

    Yes this is the exact issue I am complaining about. It used to happen only occasionally but now it is while streaming every episode. The video will freeze and the audio will continue. Sometimes I can pause, rewind, play and it'll correct but usually the video will freeze again at the same spot. So I have to back out of the video and then resume playback to correct. And yes it is usually after an Ad has played.

    Does anyone with a premium no ad account know if they have freezing issues? If the premium account (no Ad) works fine then I might consider upgrading.....
     
  23. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #23
    Yes this is the exact issue I am complaining about. It used to happen only occasionally but now it is while streaming every episode. The video will freeze and the audio will continue. Sometimes I can pause, rewind, play and it'll correct but usually the video will freeze again at the same spot. So I have to back out of the video and then resume playback to correct. And yes it is usually after an Ad has played.

    Does anyone with a premium no ad account know if they have freezing issues? If the premium account (no Ad) works fine then I might consider upgrading.....[/QUOTE]
    No problems for me with no commercial option. I have FIOS 75/75. I have only used no commercial so not sure if that is the difference. I will not watch commercials. I also have CBS All Access with no commercials.
     
  24. mactracker75 macrumors member

    mactracker75

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Location:
    Astoria, Queens NY
    #24
    I also have the no commerical option and am not noticing that at all. Can't say if that's what's making the difference though.
     
  25. MadeTheSwitch macrumors 6502a

    MadeTheSwitch

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    #25
    Are you sure? Because in researching your issue for you, I have seen post after post all over the net that Hulu doesn't stream in surround sound. Only stereo. Are you sure your receiver isn't doing some pseudo surround sound thing?

    You shouldn't have to. I just tried my ATV Hulu app and I got stereo just fine. I did have to change a setting on the receiver though that keeps getting overridden somehow. Maybe you have a similar situation? Or maybe you have an HDMI cable not seated properly or going bad? Or a port on the receiver going bad?
     

Share This Page