Hurrah! I just fixed my broken iPod

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by SamIchi, Sep 14, 2007.

  1. SamIchi macrumors 68030

    SamIchi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #1
    So my iPod went dead, I think around January, and I just put it in a bin. Today lookin around I found a little document that says how to fix it. All I did was take it apart and disconnect the battery, and HD, and then put it back together, put it in my dock, and after a minute or two the little Apple popped up!

    I had nothin' to lose since it's past warranty. This rocks! If you're wonderin' it was a 4th gen 40 GB.
     
  2. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    nice job man.
    do you have the article link just incase it happens to any of us?
    thanking you :)
     
  4. SamIchi thread starter macrumors 68030

    SamIchi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #4
    http://www.squidoo.com/brokenipod/

    It's not Gen specific, but i'm assumin' it works for all "classic" ipods cause they are all pretty similar. On the 4th gen, somethin' the guide doesn't mention is that there are 2 screw your need to take out before you disconnect the "hold and volume" part. You need one of those star shaped screw drivers, I don't know the proper name for those. Hope this will help others, I'm ecstatic that mines workin again.

    And here's some pics for opening it.

    http://www.ipodminibattery.com/3rd_gen_ipod_battery_replacement_instructions.html
     
  5. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
  6. SamIchi thread starter macrumors 68030

    SamIchi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #6
    Who's Dave?
     
  7. GavinTing macrumors 6502

    GavinTing

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore!
    #7
    I'm guessing thats meant to be you. :D

    Actually, its quite cool that this worked. Good Job. I tried it on my air-con remote control once.. They said I had to buy a $50 new one! But it worked miraculously after some cable wiggling...
     

Share This Page