HyperDock Window Preview Bug

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by deuxani, May 4, 2018.

  1. deuxani macrumors 6502

    deuxani

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    #1
    I love HyperDock but there is a window preview issue that's bugging me.

    When I move my mouse over an open app in my dock, in many cases there is a grey square covering the lower part of the window preview. This always happens when I hover my mouse from an app in the dock that is not open (and thus doesn't have a preview) and then hover my mouse to an app that is open.

    HyperDock.jpg

    The preview will always show the grey square (which is actually a cutout, because the part of the preview that is missing is shown in the top left hand corner of the preview). I've also tried the Beta version and I have the same issue there.

    I am running MacOS 10.13.4 and I also have HyperSwitch running in the background. Does anyone else have this problem too, my OCD is killing me :)
     
  2. deuxani thread starter macrumors 6502

    deuxani

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    #2
    Is Hyperdock working perfectly for everyone then? No black squares sometimes in the window previews?
     
  3. freeman1899 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    #3
    I have seen such cut outs before. But they seem to happen sporadically and I can not reproduce them. So I don't know how to help you but you are not alone.
     
  4. deuxani thread starter macrumors 6502

    deuxani

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    #4
    Thanks for the response. I thought it was just me as I haven't read anything about it and the developer doesn't respond to emails.

    The way you can reproduce it is to move your mouse pointer over apps in your dock that are not open. Then move your mouse to an app in your dock that is open, which will make HyperDock show a thumbnail. That's when the cutout shows up. When you move the mouse pointer between apps that are open, the glitch will not happen.

    It's one of things where if you see it once you will always see it and annoy you. At least when you're OCD like me :)
     
  5. freeman1899 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    #5
    Yes I can reproduce it now.

    I am wondering if Hyperdock is still in active development?
     
  6. deuxani thread starter macrumors 6502

    deuxani

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    #6
    Thanks for testing it. So it's not just me then :) It doesn't seem to be in active development anymore sadly, but from time to time he does update it.
     

Share This Page