HyperMac + 11" MBA?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by blairh, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. blairh macrumors 68030

    blairh

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #1
    Curious if the new 11" MBA can be used in conjunction with a HyperMac external battery. I know they won't technically be available for purchase (the mag safe cord that is) after November 2nd but I'm sure you can find them online if necessary (the battery itself will still be available from what I understand).
     
  2. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    5 seconds of research could have given you the answer...like hypermac's home page where is CLEARLY states it will work with the new air's.
     
  3. blairh thread starter macrumors 68030

    blairh

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #3
    I did initially look there and missed it. My apologies. On the other hand you really could have responded to my OP more respectfully.
     
  4. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    sorry, i can quite a brute somtimes.....
     
  5. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    I'm looking at a similar combo. Though in my case I'm entertaining more the 13.3" model. I have the 150W version of HyperMac battery that I normally carry for my MBP when traveling overseas. The MBA with a smaller/lighter version of HyperMac battery would shave a few pounds off my load.

    I was really sorry to see that they won't be able to sell their batteries with Mac charging cables. This is no one's win, and ours (customers) loss. Hope some corporate lawyers somewhere are satisfied. (Not that they care.)
     
  6. blairh thread starter macrumors 68030

    blairh

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #6
    How do you like your HyperMac? Happy with performance? I think the 11" MBA would be perfect for my travel needs (but that battery life :(). I'm contemplating purchasing a 60W HyperMac now because of the dreaded Nov 2 deadline.

    It's odd that Apple doesn't just make their own external batteries. Maybe they will in the future?
     
  7. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #7
    HyperMac batteries are great. I have not seen anywhere near the usage times as advertised by them, but nevertheless, it is great that I can double my laptop use time while on plane. Definitely a good purchase for someone who travels and/or spends time away from AC.
     
  8. blairh thread starter macrumors 68030

    blairh

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #8
    The 150W HyperMac is a beast (2.4 lbs). I'm sure you found it useful but that is a lot to carry on a plane (inc. the MBP). But if I'm serious about using the MBA as a travel machine I see no choice but to opt for an external battery. Kinda bummed to learn that you didn't get as much as advertised with respects to added juice. I'm not too worried about the mag safe cord no longer being for sale. Confident either they'll come to an agreement with Apple or the cord can be purchased elsewhere (Ebay, etc).

    Did you look at other choices beyond HyperMac? Have to say HM has the most impressive website (if that means anything).
     
  9. biosci macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Location:
    Chicagoland, IL
    #9
    I was thinking about this too... But maybe thought just bring both the macbookair 11" and iPad would suffice until I found some charging port. The batteries aren't cheap either!
     
  10. highscheme macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #10
    The smallest one looks like a decent companion for a macbook air, but the price is pretty steep.
     
  11. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #11
    Oh I thought this discussion was about running HyperCard on your MacBook Air.

    I think you would need System 7 for that...
     
  12. CaoCao macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #12
    Is it possible to just buy some of their power cables? (I searched their site and couldn't find it)
     
  13. FAsnakes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #13
    lol
     
  14. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    Apple sued them and they decided they would stop selling stuff after Monday. So if you can't find it, there probably won't be any more to sell.
     
  15. Bulldog3777 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #15
    Hypermac

    Does that mean you will not longer be able to use the Hapermac battery with Apple laptops? That's what it sounds like. Glad I got mine 2 moths ago.
     
  16. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #16
    I got mine 2 butterflies ago. :cool:
     
  17. Bulldog3777 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #17
    Hypermac

    Sorry I can't spell but that's what old age does to you. I noticed that on their site they have a MBAir cable. Does that mean that the MBP cable will not work on my new Air????? It appears to work but I want to make sure I am doing no hard to my Air.
     
  18. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #18
    You just won't be able to buy the HyperMac battery with the MBA or MBP charging cable. I may just order the 60Wh one with an MBA cable while I still can.

    Just FYI, I just tried it and the MBP cable for HyperMac battery works just fine with an MBA.
     
  19. blairh thread starter macrumors 68030

    blairh

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #19
    But don't the MBA and MBP use different magsafe port adapters?

    I don't understand why Apple doesn't make their own external batteries. :mad:

    If anyone gets the 60W HyperMac and uses it with a 11" MBA, please let me know how much more juice it gave you. If I did end up getting a HyperMac in the future it would be that one. But for $200 it better be worth it.
     
  20. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #20
    I thought that there was some difference between them, but like I said: the MBP cable worked perfectly connected to an MBA.
     
  21. Bulldog3777 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #21
    Hypermac

    My MBP cable from the hypermac worked fine. I understand from this board that you can use the MBP charger. If you can do that then the cables must be interchangeable. The cable on my 13 inch MBP looks exactly like the one on the Air.
     
  22. blairh thread starter macrumors 68030

    blairh

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #22
    Sorry I guess I'm confused. I always thought the power ports on the MBA and MBP were different because the dongle itself looks very different. Even when you go to order your cable on HyperMac they ask if you want a MBA or MB/MBP cable. So I guess it doesn't really matter. :confused:
     
  23. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #23
    The difference appears to be purely cosmetic....
     
  24. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #24
    Yeah, I've used a MacBook Pro magsafe with the MacBook Air (When I had it) and it worked fine.
     

Share This Page