I accidentally typed "Macrumros.com," and got redirected to some funky site. Am I infected?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Hieveryone, Feb 13, 2016.

  1. Hieveryone macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #1
    With malware, spyware, virus, or anything else?

    I have a MBPr 13" 2.6/8/256
     
  2. Kallen macrumors newbie

    Kallen

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    #2
    I tried and it took me to a page with a "Skip Ad" button and on the bottom said that the domain was for sale. Since you know you typed it in wrong, I wouldn't worry about this. Now, if you start typing in addresses correctly and you are getting redirected, THEN you have a reason to be worried.
    :)
     
  3. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #3
    I also got a popup. Not sure how that came about. It was trying to sell me an iPad I think.

    Did you get a popup?
     
  4. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
  5. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #5
    Eh. I rather not put these software on my Mac...
     
  6. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #6
    Your call, but how do want to determine if you have a problem? Do you want us to guess or use a crystal ball from your post with minimal information?
     
  7. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #7
    Try going to macrumros.com and see if something happens...

    I think it's OK but I just want to make sure
     
  8. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #8
    So you prefer that we do something risky like visiting a site that concerns you. :eek: I don't think so. I'm done.
     
  9. Badrottie Suspended

    Badrottie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    Thank Goodness it says my system is CLEAN!! Better than Windows PC! Malwarebytes is the best I have used on Windows PC!
     
  10. Kallen macrumors newbie

    Kallen

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    #10
    A popup tried to open but I have pop ups blocked by default so I just get a little warning that the website tried to open a pop up.
     
  11. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #11
    Malwarebytes app does not install anything - other than the definitions file that it needs to update when running on your system.
    You can run it from a flash drive, if you like :D
    You run it, and it checks to see if you have any malware/adware already installed on your system unknown to you.
    If any is found, it gives you the choice to remove it.
    You SHOULD be concerned more about adware, and less concerned about the software that you can use to detect and safely remove any adware found on your Mac.
    I run Malwarebytes once or twice a week - more often if I do more downloading than normal for me.
    I get results about adware once every month or two, and Malwarebytes takes care of that in a few seconds, and you are done! It's that simple... :rolleyes:
     
  12. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #12
    How do I run it from a flash
     
  13. DeltaMac, Feb 13, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2016

    DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #13
    (This assumes that you have already copied the app to your flash drive, and that you have inserted the flash drive, and it is mounted on your desktop. Double-click on the flash drive to open the drive in a window.)

    You use the same method that you would run ANY app on your Mac.
    One of these choices (either will work)
    Double-click the app, assuming it is visible in your drive window.
    Or, right-click the icon for your app, and choose Open from the menu.

    I hate to over-simplify like this, but I never know how much experience someone may have (or not have) on a Mac.

    You have been on this site for nearly two years.
    How long have you been using OS X on a Mac?
     
  14. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #14
    There are tons of websites that are one letter off and misspelled versions of real websites. These sites are usually just search pages, fake or not, that count on users who mistype actual websites not realize it and continue on the fake site probably for clicks and ads. I wouldn't worry about this though. I've mistyped websites all the time, got redirected to so shady site, then just retyped the correct site in the url bar. You will be fine.

    Edit: here is a link to what it's called

    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Typosquatting
     
  15. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #15

    I'm a bit lost here. I am on the malwarebytes site for mac right now. Should I download it to my pen drive? Then install it on the pen drive?
     
  16. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #16
    ? ?
    There are simple instructions (3 steps, I think) about what you do right there on the download page.
    Don't overthink this little task. :D
    "Installing" as with most installs on OS X, means that you just drag the app to Applications. And, you are not "required" to drag the app to the Applications folder, so you could drag it to anywhere you like. Dragging to your pen drive will work fine.
    (There is NO install in the usual sense, it just copies the app)
    When you have the app where you want it - then open the Malwarebytes app (double-click the app icon :D )
    Click the Scan button.
    The app only takes a few seconds to complete the scan, and will show you a list of what it finds.
    The app will move what it finds to the trash. Empty the trash, and those nasty things will be gone.
    If it finds nothing, it will tell you...
    And - - that's it!
     
  17. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #17

    Sounds easy enough. So just to confirm

    Download the malware bytes app directly to the pen drive. Then just open it and run it and I'm done.

    Is that right?
     
  18. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #18
    You are still thinking too hard - try to back off just a wee bit :D

    The file that you download from that site is not the app.
    It is a disk image (file name is MBAM-Mac-1.1.3.72.dmg), which you can just download anywhere. Open THAT .dmg file, and a window will open showing you the actual app (Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.app), and THAT's what you copy to your pen drive.
     
  19. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #19
    Oh wow. So when you download the file, the .dmg, and then open it to see the app, it's not downloaded on your own SSD at that point?
     
  20. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #20
    Sort of... think of the app as being inside an envelope like a letter would be inside an envelope. So you have downloaded the envelope to your computer, now the letter (app) is sitting inside the envelope waiting to be opened and used (read). Make sense?

    Actually, if you want, and only intend to use this app once then dump it, you don't even have to drag it out of the DMG once you open it to install. You can just double click the DMG to open the DMG file, then double click the app and it will run from right there inside the DMG just like if you had installed the app to the /Applications folder or the USB key. Then once you have run the app and scanned, you can quit the app, eject the DMG file and delete it.
     
  21. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #21
    Yes, kinda.
    You download the disk image. That's what you have downloaded on your SSD (or wherever you chose to download it), at least in this instance.
    The disk image includes what ever the developer chooses to include. Sometimes it is an actual installer package. Other times (such as this more common one), you get the app.
    All you get when downloading the disk image, is the disk image.
    Open the disk image, then copy the app that you find there to your SSD (or wherever)


    Just curious - You have been on this site for a couple of years...
    How is it that you are STILL confused about such a basic part of using your Mac?
     
  22. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #22
    --- Post Merged, Feb 18, 2016 ---

    --- Post Merged, Feb 18, 2016 ---
    Ok so I downloaded the .dmg. Then I transferred it to my pen drive. Then I opened the .dmg and saw the Malwarebytes app. I dragged it to my pen drive application, then opened it and ran it. No infections.

    Do I need to run it for each account on my Mac?

    Also, I'm pretty sure it is NOT on my Mac. Is that correct based on the above? I deleted the .dmg btw from my Mac.
     
  23. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #23
    Sure, why not?
    And, deleting the .dmg is fine. You don't need that once you have the app.
    All of this (along with the rest of of this thread) is really just precautionary in nature.
    The Malwarebytes is just a current type of app that will allow you to find out if you have acquired any new "occupants" on your system.
    So far, so good!
     
  24. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #24
    Yes... if you have multiple accounts you should run it from inside each account.

    But from your description all you did was visit the website, and you did not install anything, so I would not worry about it. You would have had to enter your password to allow anything bad to get installed, and you did not do that.
     
  25. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #25
    I did use a password but I ran it from the pen drive...
    --- Post Merged, Feb 18, 2016 ---
    Ok so I will just run it from the pen drive I guess.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 18, 2016 ---

    Just on a side note:


    When I search "malwarebytes" using spotlight nothing shows up when my pen drive is ejected.

    When the pen drive is plugged in, the app does show up.

    SO, this would mean no part of malwarebytes should be on my SSD right?
     

Share This Page