I am a Noob...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jaki54321, Jun 6, 2008.

1. jaki54321 macrumors newbie

1st off, hello to all. I am a new Mac user. I bought a new 2008 iMac (details below), and I don't know what I am doing. I have learned a few things on my own, but I was wondering if there is anything that u guys can recommend. I am a gamer also, that is the reason for such a powerful mac. Anyway, anything that u can recommend would be great. Thanks :D

Imac 2008
    Intel 2 Core Duo 3.06Ghz
    4gb memory
    1tb hardrive space
    Nvidia 8800gs with 512mb memory

2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

what exactly are you having trouble figuring out?
    what would you like recommended?

give a starting point at least, or take a look around the forums for a lot of info and tips scattered throughout.

3. jaki54321 thread starter macrumors newbie

anything fun to do on it. I just got it a day ago and I have the slightest idea what to put on it, what is recommended. I think I am gonna have to try to find an apple store somewhere in town.

4. chriscl macrumors 6502

chriscl

If you haven't already, get yourself a copy of "Mac OS X - The Missing Manual" by David Pogue (should be available from all good bookstores or Amazon or similar!)

This is the best book on OS X, especially for 'new' Mac users (i.e. if this is your first Mac, or you've never used Mac OS before). It goes through the operating system and most of the bundled applications to show you how to use them, and also gives tips on what you can do with your new Mac.

Highly recommended!

5. Watabou macrumors 68040

Watabou

Ok well download iStat Pro or mini, Transmission, Onyx is good too for maintenance and Firefox :p

Other than that, I haven't a clue what you are having trouble with.

If you just want to explore, go ahead and try iLife suite, or go try Photo Booth. That's really fun. I can't get enough of it. It's so darn funny everytime I open it up

6. AdeFowler macrumors 68020

AdeFowler