I am at the store...help!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hathornb, Sep 30, 2011.

  1. hathornb macrumors member

    hathornb

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #1
    2011 15' MBP w/AMD 6490 for $1700 or 2010 15' 2.4gHZ i5 w/ GT 330M for $1300

    Only game I want to play is SC2 and I will use bootcamp... which do I get?
     
  2. crimton macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
  3. arcite macrumors 6502a

    arcite

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Cairo, trapped in a pyramid with my iphone
    #3
    Only a moron would spend 1700 on a Macbook to play SC2 in boot camp, buy a 500 pc laptop/pc for the gaming and get a Macbook air for everything else. :rolleyes:


    PS. Don't get cheap and forget the $300 for Applecare. ;)
     
  4. Apok macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #4
    My mid 2010 base model 13 plays SC2 perfectly. Never had a problem with it and I dont use bootcamp.
     
  5. auxsend macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highspire, PA
    #5
    Simple, buy the one at the pricepoint you are most comfortable with.
     
  6. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #6
    ^This as you didn't specify your budget limit. but it would be easier to get a 500USD pc and getting an 11inch mba for the same prize as the top machine :)
     
  7. gorskiegangsta macrumors 65816

    gorskiegangsta

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #7
    Seconded.

    The $400 difference is rather a lot to be "thrown away" if you know you'll never need that extra power. SC2 and bootcamp will run just fine on the 2010 model.
     
  8. Amerabian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
  9. Papanate macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #9
    He is not being clear...he is referring to the Processor on the Graphics Card
    which is the AMD Radeon HD 6490M on some models.
     
  10. randomrazr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    #10
    u dont recomend applecare?
     
  11. gorskiegangsta macrumors 65816

    gorskiegangsta

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #11
    The OP is talking about the AMD (formerly branded ATI) Radeon 6490 GPU.
     
  12. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #12
    Starcraft 2 likes loads of CPU power. The newer one is definitely the better choice. 6750M is much better still as 256mb is not enough for today games anymore.
     
  13. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #13
    No he IS

    Suggesting you get Applecare....You know it makes sense to do it!
     
  14. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #14
    The bottleneck for most GPU isn't the amount of VRAM, the clock speed and number of shaders plays a much bigger role.
     
  15. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #15
    True of sorts but the engines are designed to work well with certain amounts of VRAM. If you use Windows 7 with 4 GB on an Intel Atom Notebook it will work well enough for some web surfing. Use a Core i7 with 512MB and you will end up with some choppy GUI.
    It is the same for GPUs. With enough VRAM you can enable some details and get a 5% performance hit with only 256mb the same details settings cuts fps by 30%.
    Current games expect to have more space to store textures and stuff today as any office GPU offers 512mb. Only Apple cuts VRAM so much and it won't matter in OSX because the Apps expect it in Windows new games expect more and get far greater performance hits from only 256mb than they would with a decent amount.
    Just because some quite dumb people don't realize that a lot of detail settings are simply not available if you don't have the necessary VRAM doesn't mean it wouldn't work quite a bit better with more VRAM.
     

Share This Page