I am going to switch, need some iMac advice

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Audio Blood, May 26, 2010.

1. Audio Blood macrumors member

Hey everyone! I have always been a Windows user but I've been having problems lately and have been thinking about switching for a few months now. Other than my iPods I am completely new to Apple products and Macs, although I have worked with them in school. My current Dell laptop has lasted me 4 and a half years but I'd like to buy a mac before it dies, so I'm considering the iMac, and now that the BTS event is here, I want to make sure I have the right model to suit my needs, etc.

These are the main things I want to be able to do:
    -Play a couple of games, The Sims 3 and Second Life.
    -Use the Adobe suite quite often (Photoshop and Illustrator mainly) with my Wacom tablet for art and graphic design work.
    -and possibly some light video editing in the future, but not right away, just an idea.

Any advice would be great, this is the model I'm considering.

21.5-inch: 3.06GHz
    3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    1920 x 1080 resolution
    4GB memory
    1TB hard drive1
    8x double-layer SuperDrive
    ATI Radeon HD 4670 graphics with 256MB

Now, I don't know much about some of the technical things (like would the Intel core 2 duo as bad as some people make it out to be? Should I wait for WWDC, any idea if this iMac model is due for an update?) so any help would be great. I feel that the 27" is too big for my needs otherwise I would go for that. I guess I'm just looking for some general guidance since I haven't bought a new computer in quite a few years.

Also, looking at the Sims 3 website for its system requirements, it looks like the video card on the lower end iMac model is supported and the one I listed above is not. Ug o.o I wanted this model because of the 1tb hard drive, but I guess I could always use an external. Anyway for the game:

MAC OS X Supported Video Cards
    NVIDIA GeForce series