I am having trouble deciding which Laptop to Buy

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AzWildcat, May 27, 2010.

1. AzWildcat macrumors member

Hi Folks,

Before you read this post, please not that I am not a Troll, I am not putting this up to flame one company or another. I am simply a consumer who is trying to get the most out of his money.

I will be going back to school this Fall as an Industrial Engineering Masters Student at Penn State. I bought a 13" macbook back in January 2007 and have loved every minute of ownership. I am not a power user, but I do have some requirements:

1) I am an avid photographer, so I will be running two or three different Post Processing Software at the same time (CS4, LR3, NX2)

2) I will also be using solidworks/autocad on this machine.

3) I would like to buy a D700 with a 50 F 1.4 lens (ideally I would need to 14-24, but I won't have enough money to buy this for a while) so, what with tuition, living requirements, camera lusts and computing needs, money is tight.

OPTION 1:

Buy a 15" Macbook Pro i7 processor

Specs:

intel core i7 (exact processor specs???)
    4 GB Ram
    500 GB HDD 7200 RPM
    AG Display
    2.54 kg
    7 hour battery life

Cost: 2179 after Student Discount (don't want to consider the i5 because there is only $200 difference, so IMO the i7 is worth it)

PRO's: Apple OS, Anti Glare Display, relatively light weight
    Cons: Cost, Graphics Card is not the best in the business, 4 GB Ram may end up being insufficient down the road

OPTION 2:

Asus G73JH-X1

i7-720 QM CPU
    8 GB RAM
    Radeon HD 5870m Graphics Card
    500 GB HDD
    17" High Def display (Glossy :-( )
    3.63 kg
    2 hour battery life !

Cost : 1550 from Newegg incl. s&h

Pros: Cost and specs indicate great VFM
    cons: OS, questionable build quality? weight, Glossy screen = annoying reflections, battery life