I am torn... New Macbook or old Macbook Pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by robotfist, Nov 7, 2007.

1. robotfist macrumors member

I am an all around multimedia artist (filmmaker/musician/graphic designer). Currently I have a Mac Pro Tower that takes care of all my high-def video editing and audio production work.

This next purchase is for a laptop system that can take care of my basic stuff or when I need to work on the road.

My budget currently allows for either a:

1. Brand new 2.2 GHZ Macbook with 250 GB drive, 4 GB of memory, and AppleCare Extended Warranty.

Or

A refurbished 2.2 GHZ MacBook Pro with 120 GB drive, 2 GB of memory, and no extended warranty coverage.

Which should I do? Any advice? :confused:

2. Dybbuk macrumors 6502a

The MacBook has a lot of advantages over an EQUALLY specced MBP, so the fact that the specs are so uneven makes me think you should take the MB.

3. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

Scarlet Fever

Sounds like the MacBook would be the better option for you

1. You have the Mac Pro for the big screens
    2. Even though it won't be your primary computer, 120GB will fly by. 250GB should be fine for short-term storage.
    3. you will notice the difference between 2 and 4GB of RAM with the tasks you'll be throwing at it.

The only thing that's nagging at me is the graphics card. I don't know how the X3100 will cope with high-def video editing, so maybe someone with more expertise can explain this. If it isn't an issue, then the MacBook would be my first choice.

4. robotfist thread starter macrumors member

Yeah...