I Better Not Have Just Damn Well Lost My Project Help!

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Frohike, Aug 1, 2007.

  1. Frohike macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Location:
    Kent, England
    #1
    Hey!
    When using Final cut express I just finished editing together a short movie and watched it with the canvas on full... however after watching it I intended to minimize the window and pressed the close button for the window... this then closed both the canvas AND the timeline and i appear to have no way of bringing them back!! Please tell me i haven't just lost the project... and if i havent how do i bring it back!

    HELP!!!!!
    Frohike!
     
  2. Frohike thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Location:
    Kent, England
    #2
    Oooooop no worries just realised i was panicing and realised that i knew how to bring it back! no worries! Whew! Chill!
     
  3. bennyboi macrumors regular

    bennyboi

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Location:
    West Coast
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Now how about telling the rest of us what the solution was, for the benefit of the next person to do the same maneuver?
     
  5. Luis macrumors 65816

    Luis

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    #5
    Mac 101: When you close the window, you do not necessarily close the program. Therefore, almost always, your project/essay/wahtever is safe.


    I know you know...
     
  6. lancestraz macrumors 6502a

    lancestraz

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Location:
    RI
    #6
    In the Window menu item, there is a list of all the different window you can have.
    Since you closed the canvas and timeline you would get them back by clicking on their names.

    Also, by default, Final Cut auto-saves your project every 30 minutes.
     
  7. Luis macrumors 65816

    Luis

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    #7
    That is a feature iMovie should definitely have...
     
  8. Frohike thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Location:
    Kent, England
    #8
    Actually when you close the canvas window you are unable to open them through the window menu in the toolbar. However in the browser window you simply double click on the file called "Sequence etc" (Its usually followed by some numbers. It will then simply open both the timeline and the canvas!

    Cheers,
    Frohike
     
  9. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #9
    I always change mine to 5.

    Sometimes 3 if its an important project.

    Auto-Saving takes no effort nor CPU power to execute. Just dont have it save hundreds of versions, keep it simple.
     

Share This Page