I bought Mainstage3, it didn't work, support didn't solve it, they declined refund

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Ploki, Sep 7, 2019.

  1. Ploki macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #1
    What can I do?
    I don't use the app, because it simply doesn't work as it should, and apple support didn't solve it.
     
  2. Jar Jar Abrams macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    #3
    It does work it’s rock solid software, it may not work on your mac - whatever the problem is it’s down to your hardware, they sold you a working piece of software.
     
  3. Ploki thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #4
    Yeah they declined it, and i requested it again and they right out refuse to reply now.

    Yeah, no. CPU Usage was around 15-30%, no spikes, fans didn't ramp up all the way, clean fresh system (separate partition) with only necessary plugs installed, 2 times rebuilt the project, wifi off, bluetooth off, RME Fireface + three drivereless midi controllers.
    Project was built with aliases to reduce CPU usage, used midi changes on same instruments to reduce memory footprint, etc...

    Playback dropped when macOS started doing some scheduled background stuff I couldn't turn off, i mean, when i did, macOS started behaving weird. Sometimes it was spotlight (which i disabled), sometimes it was corebrightnessd, whatever, and Mainstage just dropped playback and didn't recover - without audio engine overload, and without live instruments dropping out and muting. So software instruments and audio inputs kept working, just playback dropped, so not a failed driver or overload :)

    I wish it was my fault, because if it were i could solve it, because i generally like Mainstage, but it's not viable for complex setups.
    I have ran this setup on both i7 6-core Mini 2018 and MBP 13" 2018, one with 32GB, one with 16GB of RAM, both 80% free SSD space (400GB)

    Also, There's plenty of threads on apple community about odd playback behaviour.
    I was also on the phone with Apple support expert, but they couldn't really help me. "Try with built-in audio".
    I can't use built in audio, i need channels. It happened on Focusrite and RME, and RME doesn't do bad drivers anyway.

    Moreover, I've since migrated identical setup (i mean identical to the t, i copied everything) to Logic Pro X, cpu is down 50% (it hovers around 15%) and the fans don't even spin at all until 15 minutes into the concert...

    Which feels complete counterintuitive since logic doesn't "turn off" plugins like mainstage does, but still somehow has better performance.

    I've played 4 shows with mainstage and playback dropped mid concert on 3 of them, since switching to Logic i played 2 and both when through flawlessly.
     
  4. Jar Jar Abrams macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    #5
    That is weird, new install of mainStage? Ie you’ve installed an up to date current version direct from the App Store on the Mac you gig with? Rather than copy over mainstage from another I’d download to your main rig.
     
  5. Ploki thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #6
    I did, fresh copy of everything, clean setup. I made a separate macOS partition just for gigging, disconnected from iCloud and everything else, only necessities.
     

Share This Page

5 September 7, 2019