I can use redsn0w to JB 4.2.1 iOS, right?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacks' started by kidwithdimples, Dec 22, 2010.

  1. kidwithdimples macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #1
    What is this 'tethered jailbreak' I keep reading about?

    I'm unaware :-S
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    It means that you have to have your ipad connected to your computer to jailbreak, and need to re-run the jailbreak everytime you restart your ipad.
     
  3. Jakeblu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Going to JB my iPad when the untethered option is available and starting to get a little impatient :rolleyes: Whats taking so long, does it normally take so long after an update before the JB is ready or is there some particular problem with 4.2.1. Not complaining, I understand it must take a lot of work to JB but just wondering if this is a normal wait.
     
  4. kidwithdimples thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #4
    WOW! Are you serious? Why would people even run this 'tethered jailbreak' and go through all this?

    Just wait for another release with untethered.
    After reading the second post... I guess I'm going to wait.
     
  5. JPIndustrie macrumors 6502a

    JPIndustrie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Location:
    Queens, NY
    #5
    It's really not that bad. A few reboots when installing JB stuff but in reality it is like an iPhone where you literally never have to turn it off. Just do not be irresponsible with the device and charge it when you can!
     
  6. globality macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #6
    It is still annoying even reboot is less frequent, especially when after jailbreak you need to install some Cydia software. But more importantly I feel the current JB is still not stable from my experience. I think the untethered JB will also fix many of the bugs in the previous version.
     
  7. Barneygumble47 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    N. Ireland
    #7

    I JB'd with redsnow about 2 weeks ago and have installed lots of apps and tweaks and I have never had to reboot or run redsnow since.

    I have also had no issues with stability either.
     
  8. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #8
    What happens when you reboot while mobile? Do you just lose your JB, or is the device unusable?
     
  9. Barneygumble47 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    N. Ireland
    #9


    Youbjust lose JB until you redsnow again IPad is still fully usable.
     
  10. 0r30 macrumors 6502

    0r30

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    I just got my iPad and I'm so tempted to jailbreak it grr
     
  11. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #11
    Not always true with this redsn0w jailbreak. If you install system level mods like mobile substrate, it gets stuck at the Apple logo until you rerun redsn0w.
     
  12. oli356 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #12
    I've had mine jailbroken since this firmware came out. The tethered jailbreak has only been a problem a couple of times.

    And considering it's been a while since it came out, I'm glassed I jailbroke it
     
  13. Barneygumble47 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    N. Ireland
    #13


    Well if you really want to be pedantic about.

    But how often would the average user need to do this ? Personally I haven't had to yet.
     
  14. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #14
    A lot of people like to install Winterboard for themes, which uses mobile substrate. SBSettings and Activator are other commonly used JB apps that use mobile substrate. In fact, I'd say features that use mobile substrate are the reason I jailbreak. Obviously, your mileage does vary.
     
  15. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #15
    Thanks for clarifying, I knew about this but not specifically what apps used MS.

    On the other hand it has been weeks sense I have rebooted my iPad.
     
  16. tdream macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    #16
    No it isn't. Safari doesn't work.
     
  17. AngelsAndBombs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #17
    Im having trouble also.
    I do the whole JB, tether and all. And when it finalizes, I open Cydia, and it runs for maybe 5 seconds and closes. My Safari also doesnt open.
    Help would be appreciated.
     
  18. Barneygumble47 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    N. Ireland
    #18

    Did u run redsnow twice?
     
  19. TheGenerous macrumors 6502a

    TheGenerous

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Location:
    I'm an Austronaut
    #19
    excuse my ignorance, what version of redsnow?

    I already have an ipad jailbreaked (3.1) and jailbreked another with 3.2
    I'm using itunes 9.2.1

    We got an ipad for one of our parents, and when I connect it to the mac, it says I need to upgrade itunes to 10.1. I believe updating will conflict with my other jailbreaked ipads.

    thank you
     
  20. OSMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #20
    Do other browsers work like icab?
     

Share This Page