I cannot burn a data DVD. It absolutely will not let me.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jamesryanbell, Aug 7, 2009.

  1. jamesryanbell macrumors 68020

    jamesryanbell

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #1
    Not sure what else to do. I have DVD+R media. That shouldn't be a problem. It says it can use those discs.

    I downloaded "burn" (the mac app), and every time I use it it says "The disc is reserved for exclusive use by another application." WHY??? iTunes is closed. Nothing else is open.

    It never show up on the desktop either (the blank DVD icon).

    What gives??

    Any ideas?
     
  2. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    That disk might already have been used or it might be a bad disk especially if it doesn't show up on the desktop when inserted.

    I'd try using a different disk, and see if the same thing happens.
     
  3. jamesryanbell thread starter macrumors 68020

    jamesryanbell

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #3
    I've tried three DVD+R discs from a new pack, and the same happens with every disc. Does it just not work with some brands?
     
  4. jiminy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #4
    does something pop up asking you what you want to do with the disk?
    If it does, then you can open it in finder and drag files there and burn when your done.

    If it doesnt then I cant help you there. sorry
     
  5. jamesryanbell thread starter macrumors 68020

    jamesryanbell

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #5
    It does, but when Finder opens, it doesn't show the disc.
     
  6. MKSinSA macrumors regular

    MKSinSA

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Location:
    Alamo City, Lone Star State
    #6
    It might be the WD HD

    Over on Apple Discussions, Keith came up with a possible solution. See if that works for you.

    Cheers!

    (Still trying to figure out how to place replies in the right place!)
     
  7. emt1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #7
    Why bother with 3rd party software when the OS can do it?
     
  8. MKSinSA macrumors regular

    MKSinSA

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Location:
    Alamo City, Lone Star State
    #8
    You'd have to ask jamesryanbell

    Just giving an assist to the question as asked.
     
  9. jamesryanbell thread starter macrumors 68020

    jamesryanbell

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #9
    Because the OS couldn't do it. Doesn't show up anywhere. So I resorted to trying "Burn".
     
  10. emt1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #10
    I didn't think blank media "showed up". You just have to make a burn folder, put your data in it, and hit burn.
     
  11. jamesryanbell thread starter macrumors 68020

    jamesryanbell

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #11
    Still doesn't recognize the disc. :( Says it isn't recognized. I've already used two different brands, but they're DVD+R discs. Does that matter?
     
  12. chstr macrumors 6502a

    chstr

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #12
    Ive had similar problems. It might be some third party software?
     
  13. jamesryanbell thread starter macrumors 68020

    jamesryanbell

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #13
    It's not "burn" because it didn't work before that. I looked for the WD files (as mentioned in the link to the thread above) because I do have a WD external drive, but there's nothing like that on my computer.
     
  14. jamesryanbell thread starter macrumors 68020

    jamesryanbell

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
  15. ilovebananas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    england
    #15
    Try doing an archive and install. Best "fix" there is IMO
     
  16. jamesryanbell thread starter macrumors 68020

    jamesryanbell

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #16
    Dumb question I know, but....how do I do that?
     
  17. ilovebananas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    england
    #17
    Put in recovery disk 1 (the one that came with machine). Hold "c" as you turn on (for about 20 seconds). Let machine boot from disk. Start the install process and when you get to the screen with install destination (picture of your Hdd), highlight drive and then click "options". In the window that pops up select archive and install and check the box that says "preserve user folder" (something like that).
    This will reinstall the OS whilst keeping all your personal stuff intact. Once done you will need to download all updates again. Hopefully this will cure the problem.
    If not, get back to me as may still not be hardware, simply software.
     

Share This Page