I cannot install windows 7 nor 8.1

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by proce55or, Jun 7, 2015.

  1. proce55or macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #1
    I have tried to use bootcamp on my iMac to install windows 7 or 8.1 but every time I try to do this I get this info:

    [​IMG]

    The same problem when I try to use USB stick.

    What to do, what's wrong?
     
  2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #2
    You burned the ISO to the USB the wrong way.

    If you have a non-retina MBP, you have to use a DVD disc. If you took out the optical drive, you're going to have to put it back.
     
  3. proce55or thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #3

    I Put back DVD and no result. Maybe I burned the DVD in a wrong way. What I did was I opened ISO file, marked all files inside and right click and burn. Was it correct?
     
  4. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #4
    Wrong. Use Disk Utility to burn.
     
  5. proce55or thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #5

    OK, thank you, I will do it this time.
     
  6. lokster macrumors 6502

    lokster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    #6
    wait, you can't install windows 7 through usb using bootcamp on an non-retina display with an optical drive? coz thats what i was planning to do.
     
  7. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #7
    No you can't, because when BCA detects that you're on a Mac that came with an optical drive (regardless of whether you removed it or not), it'll only allow installation via the optical drive.
     
  8. lokster macrumors 6502

    lokster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    #8
    I see, so my primary hdd should be partitioned for both OS X and windows 7. then the secondary hdd is just for storage. my main OS will be windows for my engineering programs, and OS X will be on the side for graphic design stuff
     
  9. proce55or thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #9
    OK, the problem was wrong mounted ISO on DVD - that's fixed. But now I have this warning:

    [​IMG]
     
  10. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #10
    Like what it says, you can't use Windows 8. Your best bet is to use Windows 7 first, then manually upgrade to Windows 8 from there - but driver support will be spotty.
     
  11. rosario1990 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
  12. proce55or thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #12
  13. proce55or thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #13
  14. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #14
    Yes. On later models it is supported with both optical and USB installation. My mid-2012 classic MacBook Pro 13" supports both and I have used both.
     
  15. MartinAppleGuy macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #15
    I get this error with an official disk, what am I doing wrong? I am using a 3rd party generic DVD drive through USB on a 2014 iMac with no internal optical drive.
     
  16. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #16
    @MartinAppleGuy Try creating an image of the disk and then using a USB drive for installation.
     
  17. MartinAppleGuy macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #17
    The only external DVD drive my friend has doesn't seem to work, is she able to use a Windows laptop that has a working internal drive to create an ISO from the disk?
     
  18. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #18
    Yes. If you can get your hands on an ISO through either her or another source you can use that in the Boot Camp Assistant to create a USB installer.
     
  19. MartinAppleGuy macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #19
    So I would use the MS software to take the disk onto the USB, then bring it onto the I!ac and use Bootcamp? Cheers for the help btw
     
  20. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #20
    @MartinAppleGuy Yes. You would either create an ISO of the disk and then copy that to the Mac and use it for Boot Camp Assistant. When you insert the disk into the USB optical drive on the iMac, does it appear on the desktop?
     
  21. MartinAppleGuy macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #21
    It does after so long, but it appears the the read speeds of the drive are extreamly low, as playing a film with the drive would make it stutter every 2 seconds and freeze up for 5 minutes We're just going to get a new drive and that will hopefully work
     

Share This Page