I can't download torrents

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by dassalock, Feb 26, 2010.

1. dassalock macrumors newbie

I'm fairly new to torrents. In the past I've used bit torrent and tomato torrent. I never fully understood how it worked, but somehow I got the stuff I was looking for. Now I'm trying to download something, but can't get anything to work. I tried Vuze, bittorrent and tomato torrent. I get the torrent, open them in these applications, and then nothing. it just sits there. status bar goes nowhere. Tried several torrents. I googled for more info, get answers about changing ports, routers and other stuff I have no idea what it is. I understand that some ISP block torrents? Can someone give me step by step, clear instructions on how to fix this without using too advanced terminology?

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

It also depends on how many seeders there are. If there are only leechers and no seeders, it won't download.

3. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

Bennieboy©

you might want to re-think your plans, torrents are generally bad news, and yes ISP's especially in britain are taking drastic actions of just cutting your service off in efforts to stop them being used,

it could be that your isp is just throttling your traffic, i dont think theres a definitive way of finding out exactly,

as for sorting it out without getting really technical, sorry, cant help most guides online only do the really technical ( ports and forwarding and such )

4. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

Agreed both on the ISP throttling traffic and on the tech-speak

I know Comcast here in the States takes a dim view on torrents and they have throttled in the past

5. dassalock thread starter macrumors newbie

" just throttling your traffic"