I can't Erase Macintosh HD in disk utility?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Reshiramxzekrom, Aug 6, 2013.

  1. Reshiramxzekrom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    #1
    Well, Ive been meaning to install updates for OS X 10.2 on my iBook Clamshell. However: when I click the erase tab on disk utility, Its all blocked out. Here is a screen if it helps: [​IMG]
     
  2. Andropov macrumors regular

    Andropov

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Location:
    Spain
    #2
    You can't erase your boot disk. You have to do it from the installer CD/DVD of Mac OS X.
     
  3. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
  4. Reshiramxzekrom thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    #4
    I mean, In apple software update, Tiger is avalible. HOWEVER: it makes an error with this text: Error code 7. see apple.com/ for details. Thats why I want to reinstall. also: tHIS IS ON VIRTUALBOX IN OS X. It wont read the disc on my macBook air.
     
  5. Jake0604 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #5
    um what
     
  6. Reshiramxzekrom thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    #6
    This copy of jaguar is a VM.:apple:
     
  7. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #7
    Well, there is no compliant-with-licensing way to run Jaguar in a VM, and Software Update should *NEVER* offer a Tiger update to a Jaguar system, so sorry, you're experiencing something beyond help.

    As others have said, you can't reformat a drive while booted to an OS on that drive. In addition, you shouldn't have to reformat to apply an update.

    Also, please detail the situation better. First you say it's an iBook, then VirtualBox.
     
  8. Reshiramxzekrom thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    #8
    Its setup to be an ibook clamshell. (As in the settings)
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  10. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #10
    Yes, come to think of it, I too would like to know what virtualization software you're using. As far as I can find, no virtualization software is available that emulates specific Apple devices (like picking "iBook" from a drop-down,) and CERTAINLY not VirtualBox, which only emulates x86 hardware.

    The only emulator of PowerPC for x86 systems is PearPC, which *CAN* emulate sufficiently, but it doesn't do it "by model", it emulates a generic PowerPC system.
     
  11. Reshiramxzekrom thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    #11
    Noo.....I mean that it has the same setup/config as an old clamshell. Look it up on youtube.
     
  12. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #12
    This makes no sense at all. What emulator are you using?
     
  13. Reshiramxzekrom thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    #13
    Okay, i have been lying, thinking this was illegal, BUT...I am using pearPc for windows. EVEN though my main computer is an iBook G4
     
  14. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #14
    Don't ask for help and lie, it wastes everyone's time. In any case, the first response in the thread gave you your answer.
     
  15. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #15
    Okay, done trying to help, I don't even know wether to believe this or not.
     
  16. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
  17. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #17
    Possible and duplicable emulation. Unlike your various threads.
     
  18. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #18
    and now for something completely different.

    if still unable, you might have a go the other way around.

    use the Macintosh HD to first clear and format the disk utility. might clean up the sniggly bits that are preventing you from proceeding. i might recommend spinning the drive the other way round to keep things in perspective though.

    best of luck.
     

Share This Page