I can't get 3d acceleration and snapshots to work in vmware.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by markbraisa, Sep 15, 2007.

  1. markbraisa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #1
    I have installed windows xp on a boot camp partition, and sometimes I run this through vmware fusion too. The thing is, I cannot get neither snapshots nor 3d acceleration to work. I have enabled the 3d acceleration through Virtual Machine -> Settings -> Dispaly. And the Snapshot and Reverse to Snapshot features are just grayed out in the menu bar. I have installed VMWare tools, so I don't think this is the problem. I have tried playing both counter-strike and counter-strike source through vmware, both of them work when I log into XP at boot, but not through VMware. Thank you.
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    I'm grasping at straws here, but do you have SP2?
     
  3. markbraisa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #3
    Well I'm pretty sure I do. The boot camp drivers don't work correct unless sp2 is installed do they?
     
  4. Celeron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #4
    Snapshots don't work when you boot your bootcamp partition. Its only supported when using a true virtual machine that has a virtual hard drive.
     
  5. markbraisa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #5
    Ok. This makes sense. But shouldn't 3d acceleration work?
     
  6. Celeron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #6
    3D Acceleration should work. However, it only supports DirectX8, not 9 or 10.
     
  7. markbraisa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #7
    Yet It doesn't I specifically told counter-strike source to run in directx7, yet it won't run.
     
  8. Celeron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #8
    What doesn't it do? Is there any error messages?
     
  9. nospamboz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    #9
    I think it requires OpenGL, which is not supported yet in VMware.
     

Share This Page