I can't get online on Windows Vista on my macbook through Bootcamp.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by mcorleone, Dec 26, 2008.

  1. mcorleone macrumors regular

    mcorleone

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    I had just installed the basic Windows Vista on my macbook. I finished the procedure and have it set where it loads OS by default. No problems getting online through OS but it is all but impossible to find the network through Vista. I mainly put it on there to play Windows games but would still like to be able to go online while in Windows mode. It says it can't find any networks and says nothing about the wifi through the Airport wifi connector.

    Currently I'm at my mother's house using her router until I return home in January. I had no problems finding the network on OS but its nonexistant on Windows. Anyone else encounter similar problems? Any tips or help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. BayouBengal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Houston,TX
    #2
    Boot into Windows and put in your Leopard setup DVD, it needs to load some drivers. You are probably just missing the networking drivers.
     
  3. mcorleone thread starter macrumors regular

    mcorleone

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    OK I did that yesterday but it still can't find the drivers for the AirPort. I also just realized the sound doesn't work either! :mad: Any other plan B methods?!
     
  4. Slowstick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #4
    If the drivers installed correctly, everything should work. Try reinstalling them again.
     
  5. mcorleone thread starter macrumors regular

    mcorleone

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    Still no go. I tried reinstalling them, "repairing" etc... and no results. Sound doesn't work either even though it says it is under "Control panel/sounds". HELP! ! ! ! ! !
     
  6. euphoriasonic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Location:
    LA
    #6
    I am having this same issue. it said everything was fine after the OS X installation DVD installed files for Bootcamp in windows. It then restarted my system... everything seemed ok.

    but no internet.

    so i tried as mentioned in the first few posts, to re-install the drivers from the OS X cd. once i put the cd back in, it said Bootcamp did encounter errors, and to try re-installing.

    so i'm re-booting now, and trying to re-install the drivers...

    ok, so i did a re-boot, and then put the OS X installation disc back in. My choices were "Repair" or "Remove" bootcamp installs for windows, so i tried "Repair". Again, the installation said it was successfull...

    the Realtek Audio and Bluetooth thingies popped up in the notification area, and seem to work. however, still not detecting wireless.

    This is on a 2.4 GHz Macbook Pro (Penryn) with 4 GB of Ram. Installed Windows Vista SP1 (Black Edition) successfully... no other problems, it seems.

    any ideas?

    thanks!


    **update - did a search, and found this thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=6829303#post6829303

    with some links for the audio/wlan fix. but i can't them working... posted issue in that thread.

    if anybody else has any ideas/help, i really appreciate it! thank you!
     
  7. mcorleone thread starter macrumors regular

    mcorleone

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    The saga continues....but still no online or sound! :mad:

    I called Apple's tech support and the guy told me to uninstall/reinstall Windows Vista. It did go smoothly, then I inserted the Leopard disk for the bootcamp drivers. Nothing! I inserted the bootcamp 2.1 driver disk I made and....nothing! Currently I'm at my mom's house for the holidays and even tried to hardwire it through her ethernet cable and nothing.

    I called Apple's tech support, they forwarded me to one of their "senior" reps and he said that there's basically nothing they could do and that I would need to call Microsoft.

    Has anyone else done this yet? I wonder if they will be a bunch of tools once I tell them I'm trying to run Vista on a Mac. Well they should give me the courtesy since I'm a legal owner of their latest operating system.

    Again if anyone had this problem before and found the solution, please post!!!!
     
  8. MatLane macrumors 6502a

    MatLane

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
  9. Slowstick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #9
    Nah! This isn't a Vista problem. Its a Vista on an Apple machine problem. If Bootcamp was better, this wouldn't be a problem. Remember, Apple wants you to hate Windows. :D They don't spend as much on improving a Windows experience on a Mac as they should.
     
  10. mcorleone thread starter macrumors regular

    mcorleone

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    I agree Slowstick!

    Before I call Microsoft, I made an appointment for tomorrow evening with the local Apple store here in Chicago. They said this has happened many times before so I'll post here what the problem was and if it gets fixed or not. Best to do it here since the nearest Apple store where I live is all the way in Tampa which is an hour north from home!
     
  11. Slowstick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #11
    Good luck!!!! I hope your trip is worth it! :D
     

Share This Page