i cant install windows with my bootcamp

Discussion in 'macOS' started by alam, Oct 19, 2008.

  1. alam macrumors regular

    alam

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #1
    hello everyone
    i'm having some strange problem with my mac
    every time i run boot camp assistant it gives me this message "you can't partition external disk drive.
    restart your computer using your computer startup disk."
    i have a mac pro with 2 hdd 320 gb and the raid type strip.
    to make them as 1 hard drive :cool:
    but every time i need to partition them to install windows i cant :mad:
    should i have been chosen the raid type concatenated?
    or there is another way to solve this issue?
    tnx
     
  2. dale8331 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    #2
    Boot camp reply!!!

    I have a mac pro with Vista32bit on one hadr drive , 64 bit Vista on another hadr drive and then I have 10.5.5 on another drive. I have four drives in all. I think it must be because of the raid config you have. I had no problem installing either one of the Vista's on my computer. If you need any other help email me @ daleandrews@suddenlink.net.
     
  3. alam thread starter macrumors regular

    alam

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #3
    i have a question? does boot camp require not to be installed on a raid drive?
     
  4. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    That's what I thought.
    IIRC Boot Camp needs to be installed on a "normal" HD.

    I can't tell by your post exactly how your internal HD's are setup, but I can tell you my configuration, which might help you out:

    Mac Pro '08:
    - Drive A en Drive B: 2 x 500 GB, RAID O (Stripe), for Mac OS X
    - Drive C: 1 x 320 GB, Partitioned with MBR option 2 x 160 GB (one for XP, one for Vista), and both partitions formatted as DOS (FAT 32). When installing converted to NTFS (quick).
    - Drive D: 1 x 750 GB, Data HD

    I did not use the Boot Camp Setup Assisitant. I simple partitioned the 320 GB drive in bay C, with MBR option enabled. Then, simply inserted Windows XP Pro SP 2 CD, and did a very normal "PC-style" install.
    After installation I used the Leopard DVD for my Boot Camp drivers.
    Works perfectly!
    :)
     
  5. alam thread starter macrumors regular

    alam

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #5
    so what is MBR?? is it an application?
     

Share This Page