I can't install!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by felipemartins210, Sep 28, 2018.

  1. felipemartins210 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2018
    #1
    Guys,

    I'm new here and I am heaving a big problem.

    1. My hard drive broken
    2. I don't have backup
    3. I've tried to make a usb boot to install in my ssd.
    When I try to use my USB, an logo of apple is showing but nothing happen, I've tried all options of boot.

    Give me a light please!

    Hardware
    iMac 2007, 1gb ram.
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    What version of the OS did you use to make the installer?
     
  3. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #3
    Can you tell us more about your iMac?
    2007 is when Apple introduced the aluminum iMacs, for example.
    Those look (at least from the front) much like the iMacs that are currently sold more than 10 years later
    White iMacs were still selling new in 2007, and are limited to OS X 10.7.5 (Lion)
     
  4. felipemartins210 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2018
    #4
    I had High sierra, but I don't have the original hard disk. I just have the iMac 2007 wiothout original hard disk.

    I don't have an maccomputer to create a bootable usb.

    Is it posibleto create it in windows?
    --- Post Merged, Sep 29, 2018 ---
    Yes i have this one iMac 2007 aluminum. I've bought it with high sierra, but i've tried restore it, but doesn't work because the last woner may put it and you tell me now the Lion OS is the last one supported. I'll try to make a bootable disk lion os.
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    Aluminum 2007 iMac - known as "Mid 2007" iMac - is not limited to Lion. Your Mid 2007 iMac is officially supported, and can be upgraded to El Capitan (OS X 10.11.6).
    Unfortunately, High Sierra cannot be installed natively.
    However, whoever sold that to you may have installed High Sierra through some method, such as the Dosdude1 patcher
    http://dosdude1.com/software.html

    More bad news -- If you REALLY have only 1GB of RAM installed, the last Mac operating system that could boot to that is Snow Leopard. All systems newer than that require 2GB minimum.
    But 1GB is way low, regardless of what you have installed. Your Mid 2007 iMac supports up to 6GB maximum. 2 x 2GB is easier to find (and cheaper, too), and would give you a system you could actually use.
    You MIGHT have an installer that will work, if you had more RAM installed.

    Did you replace your "broken" hard drive yet?
     
  6. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 68000

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
  7. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #7
    OP:

    Your Mac is too old for High Sierra.
    You want either 10.8 (Mountain Lion) or perhaps 10.11 (El Capitan). IF El Cap can run on a 2007.

    Don't bother with 10.9 (Mavericks) or 10.10 (Yosemite).
    And again, you don't want either 10.12 (Low Sierra) or 10.13 (High Sierra).

    If you can't find the files to make a USB installer, you can go on ebay and BUY one from sellers who will sell you a pre-configured USB flashdrive with the installer ready-to-go.
     
  8. felipemartins210 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2018
    #8
    It's make sense, I will upgrade the ram to 4gb, but now i jsut have 1gb. I'll install Lion Montain 10.8.5.

    I think my usb flashdrivewas good, but my iMac wan't compatible, becouse of that i could't install it.

    I burn a cd with Lion Mountain 10.8.5

    new question:
    -My bios boot could be broken because the last woner force a high sierra install with dosdude1.com?
     
  9. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #9
    1GB of RAM is not enough for Mountain Lion. You need more RAM installed, if you want to use ANY system newer than Snow Leopard
    The DOSDude patch does not do anything to the hardware, it simply installs software patches to allow a newer OS X system to install and run on a system that does not support it natively.

    It really is likely that the previous owner removed some RAM before selling it to you, then left an operating system that you can't use without that RAM. I KNOW they were not using it with anything newer than Snow Leopard, with only 1GB installed.
     
  10. felipemartins210 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2018
    #10
    Worked! thanks! I've stalled snow leopard, but i'll install high sierra later. Thank you bro!
     

Share This Page

9 September 28, 2018