I can't switch using alt

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Hugbees, Dec 13, 2007.

  1. Hugbees macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #1
    I'm able to switch between OS:X and Windows by changing it to my default, but when I hold alt during the startup it won't prompt me to choose the OS.

    I don't know what could have caused this, but I hope it can be fixed
     
  2. mileslong macrumors 6502

    mileslong

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
  3. JSchwage macrumors 6502a

    JSchwage

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #3
    If you have an Apple Remote, try holding down the menu button on your Apple Remote when your Mac boots up. See if that does it for you.
     
  4. Hugbees thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #4
    While that does work, I'd like to know why I can't use alt though.
     
  5. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #5
    What kind of keyboard are both of you using (USB/Bluetooth/built-in if a notebook system)? And is it an Apple keyboard or a non-Apple one?
     
  6. okrelayer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #6
    pretty sure you cold down control, i might be wrong
     
  7. Hugbees thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #7
    its the standard keyboard that came with the iMac, and it used to work for switching into windows but it just doesn't now.
     
  8. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #8
    Could it possibly be the option key itself? Set up a custom keyboard shortcut on the Mac OS X side, and see if it works. Do the same on the Windows end. Come to think of it, that may not be a good test because the option key being recognized is part of the bootup process not tied to the OS...Another thought, since I'm putting myself out here, was that maybe a firmware password was set but then you'd get a padlock icon with a field to enter in the password to proceed...I think I'm just rambling now...someone put me out of my misery :D
     
  9. Hugbees thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #9
    Nope neither of them are it :(

    I don't get a password, it's just like I'm not hitting the button at all
     
  10. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #10

    Maybe I'm miss-understanding you, but it's Option. You hold down Option at startup.
     
  11. MasterNile macrumors 65816

    MasterNile

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #11
    Alt=Option, same key
     
  12. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #12
    Wow :p go me. In my defense it was really late when I posted that.
     
  13. shoulin333 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #13
    for some reason my left button doesnt work all the time, so i always use the right one next to the arrow keys, and it works every time
     
  14. MasterNile macrumors 65816

    MasterNile

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #14
    Ok fine, I guess we won't tar and feather you then.....at least not yet ;)
     
  15. Hugbees thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #15
    I still have this problem, I recently Archived And Installed Mac OSX again and that didn't fix it but the key works any other time. I also can't get into safe mode so it seems startup commands overall don't work
     

Share This Page