I did it!! I bought a Mac Pro! Hi, I'm a Mac!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cydspal, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. cydspal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #1
    Thanks to everyone for all of the great feedback, here is my base machine on order, I will add Ram, display and external Hdrive (with your advice!):
    mac pro
    AirPort Extreme card (Wi-Fi)
    Two 16x SuperDrives
    Two 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon (8-core)
    Apple wireless Mighty Mouse
    Apple Wireless Keyboard (English) + Mac OS X
    2GB (2 x 1GB)
    500GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s
    Accessory kit
    NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512MB (Two dual-link DVI)
     
  2. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #2
    Congrats. Hopefully you have better luck than me.
     
  3. Reach macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Norway
    #3
    Congratulations, and grab a beer while you're waiting..
     
  4. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #4
    Grab a couple. it'll be a few weeks.
     
  5. ErikAndre macrumors 6502a

    ErikAndre

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    You shouldn't have to wait long for it tho... i expect your computer to ship next week. :D
     
  6. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #6
    And I expect you to buy my memory if you're right. ;):p
     
  7. ErikAndre macrumors 6502a

    ErikAndre

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    [​IMG] Ha.
     
  8. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    Yeah... ordered mine just over week ago.
    Will be finishing a few "Perfect Drafts" (see pic.. got one nowadays.. :D) before I wil be able to play with it... :rolleyes:
     

    Attached Files:

  9. cydspal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #9
    Ok, Ok, Ok....if you insist, I will drink a beer tonight just for you all....

    Hey, everyone OK with my config?
     
  10. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #10
    looks great to me, but the question is, are YOU Ok with it? Who cares what we think... will it do what you want at a price you can handle? If so, then congrats; that'll be a great machine!
     
  11. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    Well, cheers then mate! :)

    Looks a VERY nice config. Getting the 8800 GT card is a must IMHO.

    I will be adding 2 x 1 GB sticks, for a total of 4 x 1 GB.
    And as it is cheaper for me to leave the standard 320 GB HD, I will be adding 2 x 500 GB HD.

    So my rig will be:

    Mac Pro 8 x 2.8 GHz
    4 GB RAM (4 x 1 GB)
    GeForce 8800 GT
    Standard SuperDrive
    1 x 320 HD, 2 x 500 GB HD (the 2 x 500 GB HD will be soft RAID 0, and the 320 GB HD as Time Machine destination HD)
     
  12. surflordca macrumors 6502a

    surflordca

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #12
    Ever notice anyone that ordered an NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512MB isn't having a problem. :) Oh wait a minute, I don't have my new Mac Pro yet :mad:
     
  13. cydspal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #13
    Hey MacsRgr8, nice machine you are getting there, way to go! Will you get your HD and Ram from Apple or elsewhere?
     
  14. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #14
    Tnx, cydspal! You too, m8!

    I'll be ordering the extra RAM and HD's from my local reseller... much cheaper!

    So, the "Apple"-config will be the default Mac Pro but with the 8800.
    My reseller is ordering that machine as CTO... the HD's and RAM will come from their own stock. :)

    Can't wait for it!!! :apple::cool:
     
  15. gazfocus macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #15
    I'm thinking of getting the following spec

    Dual Quad Core 2.8GHz
    2GB RAM
    320GB HDD
    2 x Superdrives
    Airport Card
    Wired Keyboard (I have a wireless white 'old style' keyboard which I prefer to losing the number pad)
    Wireless Mighty Mouse Mouse
    nVidia 8800GT

    Will I need 2 superdrives? (could save £60 :p)

    My main question is would I see much benefit between the dual 2.8GHz and the single 2.8GHz because this could potentially save me £320.

    Thanks
     
  16. schreck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    New England
    #16

    I just received my single quad today and let me tell you, it's absolutely brilliant. I did some video encoding today, and the speed was literally 2.5x that of my MacBook (obviously). What really matters is what you plan on using the computer for. So tell us, what would ya use it for? :)

    I honestly can't imagine needing an eight core any time soon. It's so hard to say what you should do, especially given the fact that the resale on my quad is probably going to be pretty crappy.
     
  17. gazfocus macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #17
    I think one of the reasons I'm considering the 8 core is because of the possible resale value (although, I'd be tempted to keep this as it will be my first 'new from Apple' mac :D) hence why I want to get it right.

    Basically, I don't really do a lot of anything :p I mainly do web design (at which point I'll have Photoshop CS3, Dreamweaver CS3, Fireworks CS3, (possibly) Flash CS3, as well as a web browser all open at the same time).

    Other than that, I have Logic Studio, Final Cut Studio, and the full CS3 Master Collection (these 3 packages take up 225GB for full installs hence my decision to go Mac Pro). I do like dabbling in Video editing, Music Production, etc, but nothing hardcore, and certainly not HD editing (yet).

    I will admit though that most of my time is spent browsing the web (eBay, MacRumors, etc). I have no intention of playing games on my Mac Pro because I'll be keeping my Windoze PC for that.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page